We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #195 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Two of my top requirements when selecting a hotel are location & cleanliness.
Being quite familiar with Shanghai, the location of HOJO suited my needs. Close to subway, (tho I used taxis mainly or walked), there are lots of eateries & shopping close by.
I liked the interesting neighbourhood - a mixture of business & local residential with people carrying on their daily lives.
The room I was issued was located at the back (hence quiet but looked on to other buildings). Altho I requested a street facing room at reservation & checkin, this was ignored despite occupancy was not full.
Whilst the room was clean, I found it very dark & depressing (despite being on the higher floor). Cluttered with dark timber & far too much heavy furniture the room was very old fashion - perhaps a notch better than the typical Chinese hotel, but certainly not a universal 4 or 5 star. The bathroom toiletries were cheap & nasty.
The staff were generally helpful if approached but no effort made to be friendly or welcoming, even tho I stayed there for four nights. Smiles would go a long way.

Would I return? Probably not as there are always newer stock available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdcagewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    121
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
28
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Superb location, room clean and well appointed, staff very friendly and professional, a particular mention for Shane who worked the breakfast shift, he was all over it. The only grumble would be the login formwi-fi; you have to login each and every time and you can't have tow devices e.g. Mobile and laptop, linked to wifi at the same time. Otherwise highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOfTheThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and had a wonderful winter vacation with my family. The location along what they consider as the high-end shopping strip of Shanghai. If you wish to go around though, there is a nearby subway station for that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
440 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

When you enter the lobby you are always greeted nicely, and English was good enough for me to get through my reservation. Plus you get to sit while they check you in. Breakfast is awesome, worth the stay right there bit the rooms are equally as nice. Staff is extremely helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I picked this hotel because it's right next to my office. Hotel is clean and spacious. Front desk staff is very approachable and nice. The room is spacious enough for business purpose. It's totally value for money and I'd not mind staying here again in my future business trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in great location, quite near the subway, some supermarkets and shopping places.
The room and bathroom were nice but only the carpet seemed not clean. All the other amenities including meeting room were very fine for me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located, clean & tidy. The maintenance is satisfactory. The service I experienced, was, disappointingly, poor. An example was days before arrival, I emailed the hotel for local/private tour information tomplan my vacation. However, I could get no reply. When I informed the frontdesk staff when checking in, they could give no explanation. Despite their undertaking to follow up, I got no response at all. Should I have to rely on the hotel to make my holiday, it would have been ruined. This is a good hotel for getting a bed to sleep, but please do not expect anything else.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#141 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#185 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#356 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#208 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#116 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#87 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1 Fenyang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Formerly Cyts Eastern Huaihai Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Puxi. Just a few minutes walk to several key areas of the city. Shopping and dining is conveniently situated around the area. Free Broadband and wireless in all rooms. Rain forest shower cubical and bathtub in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing