We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with economy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #199 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent with economy”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

stayed here for a business trip, well appointed and helpful staff, modern contemporary, all major tourist attractions are very near to the hotel, wifi is bit expensive..bit far from airport but within the city..

Room Tip: food is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaprana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    123
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
28
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights and found it clean, well appointed and the staff friendly. Good central location in the French Concession area within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and cafes. Air con ok but not brilliant and the only frustration was that the wifi required us to login every time we left and came back (admittedly it was free). Good gym and lobby lounge for meetings. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The place needs a refit! It was, admittedly, clean but it needs a repaint and new furniture. The lift doors are mirror smooth and the lobby rather elegant. The Costa Coffee next door ought to be avoided: overpriced and poor quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed in here for 5 days on a Business trip in Sept 2013.
- The location was great for me as it was walking distance to my office
- There are a lot of good eating places around, esp western food / salad bars (on the pricey side)
- The breakfast was decent with a good selection of western and oriental cuisines, but not too exciting for a 5* hotel and extremely repetitive if you spend more than 2 nights.
- The staff were friendly and helpful, well, as helpful as they possibly could be given that most of them couldn’t speak or understand English.
- One night, I spent about 30mins trying to place an order for dinner. The first time I called, I was put on hold for around 9 minutes without taking my order. 2nd and 3rd time, there was no response. The 4th time, I called the reception and they couldn’t connect me either. Needless to say I had a very late dinner that night.
- The free wifi was not working on my phone. The staff spent 45 mins in my room and called another technician who couldn’t fix it either after spending more than 1 hr in my room. Finally I asked them to let it be and went w/o wifi on my ph for 5 days.. My laptop was able to connect, so not a huge deal, though it was very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Having stayed at a number of 4* and 5* properties on both business and leisure trips, I did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV1Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Two of my top requirements when selecting a hotel are location & cleanliness.
Being quite familiar with Shanghai, the location of HOJO suited my needs. Close to subway, (tho I used taxis mainly or walked), there are lots of eateries & shopping close by.
I liked the interesting neighbourhood - a mixture of business & local residential with people carrying on their daily lives.
The room I was issued was located at the back (hence quiet but looked on to other buildings). Altho I requested a street facing room at reservation & checkin, this was ignored despite occupancy was not full.
Whilst the room was clean, I found it very dark & depressing (despite being on the higher floor). Cluttered with dark timber & far too much heavy furniture the room was very old fashion - perhaps a notch better than the typical Chinese hotel, but certainly not a universal 4 or 5 star. The bathroom toiletries were cheap & nasty.
The staff were generally helpful if approached but no effort made to be friendly or welcoming, even tho I stayed there for four nights. Smiles would go a long way.

Would I return? Probably not as there are always newer stock available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdcagewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Superb location, room clean and well appointed, staff very friendly and professional, a particular mention for Shane who worked the breakfast shift, he was all over it. The only grumble would be the login formwi-fi; you have to login each and every time and you can't have tow devices e.g. Mobile and laptop, linked to wifi at the same time. Otherwise highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOfTheThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and had a wonderful winter vacation with my family. The location along what they consider as the high-end shopping strip of Shanghai. If you wish to go around though, there is a nearby subway station for that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#145 of 5,069 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#181 of 5,069 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#232 of 5,069 in Shanghai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#438 of 5,069 in Shanghai
101 reviews
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#215 of 5,069 in Shanghai
232 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#97 of 5,069 in Shanghai
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1 Fenyang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Formerly Cyts Eastern Huaihai Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Puxi. Just a few minutes walk to several key areas of the city. Shopping and dining is conveniently situated around the area. Free Broadband and wireless in all rooms. Rain forest shower cubical and bathtub in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing