We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #181 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Decent little hotel, nice and quiet, not overflowing with tourists. My room was a little tired around the edges by clean and tidy. The location is good for shopping as it is very close to all the big names on Huai Huai road and access to the Metro. I only used the restaurant once and we were the only people in there, but food and service was good. Drinks are expensive but that is the same in most hotels in Shanghai. Within 15 minutes walk, there are numerous ex-pat bars serving Guiness, Strongbow and Heineken if you are missing that sort of thing. Shanghai Brewery is also close by and is a huge American sports type bar with their own micro brewery. Food and beer is very good, but again a bit pricey by Chinese standards

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking back of hotel have better views and appear to be a bit quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

It started well, an upgrade to a 2 floor suite after a long flight in from UK. Rooms very nice, plrnty of space and comfortable.

Hotel staff very helpful and dealt with every need whether taxi request, dinner bookings or general enquiries.

The biggest let down for were lack of adequate chill out spaces. Aftrr 9.30 you can forget a drink in lobby bar. I requested a Singapore Sling and was asked to pay before i received a drink and when it arrived resembled a club soda!

The restaurant is small and can't handle the volume of guests , also I had to ask for simple things like cutlery and sugar. Staff were just not on the ball.

The hotel isn't in the greatest area if yiu want some nightlife but for shopping its close to all the big brands.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have been staying at the Howard Johnson's Huaihai location on and off for 2 years now and I still will continue to stay there. The location is really good as it is nearby a metro, and within walking distance of really great spots including a brand new great mall (complete with Apple Store). Be aware that this hotel is probably getting a little tired and the rooms are beginning to show it. They are still decent, but within a year or two will start to show significant wear and tear I would think. I also think their breakfast is just OK for prices they charge here. Overall, this is a solid hotel, with just OK service and breakfast, with a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, one block away from the A1PM mall and many stores close by. The staff was very friendly and polite, they helped us get a taxi and guide us to where we wanted to go. Room very clean and spacious, the shower had some mold though. Noise was not a problem at the room for the busy city if Shanghai, wifi is ok in the lower floors, we changed our room to the 16th floor and could not get wifi. Will stay at this hotel again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is a bit of a gem as it is not swarmed with people hanging out in the lobby or jammed with tour groups. The location is extremely convenient for visiting Jing'an district. Steps away from shopping, eating, public transportation and night life. Can walk to the heart of the French concession in just a few minutes. The rooms are big enough and clean. I have not tried the restaurants as there are many great places to eat outside (just steps away from Element fresh for some good healthy meals). Check in is a little weird and slow with the short desk and a little understaffed, but they do an OK job to multitask and get you checked in or checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Living as an expat in Xiamen going to Shanghai really is going to the big city. It gives you a chance to do some shopping, stock up on Western DVD's, have great salad or mexican meal - in short enjoy some western treats in an Asian city.
Howard Johnson Huaihai has become my hotel of choice in Shanghai because it is a fine hotel, with a great location!
Located at the heart of the French District it is near great shops, lovely cafe's, a great DVD store, and the best local Mexican food I have had in years. As a district it is picturesque, with a good mix of westerners and local Shanghaiese. You are also pretty central for business meetings and a 20 minute cab ride to the Bund.
As a hotel it is fine. The rooms are not large but fine for a 2-3 night stay. Service is OK. Friendly but not great. The food is fine but if you stay there you will be walking around and dining at one of the myriad of places within a 5 minute stroll. The windows open in the rooms which I love as it allows some fresh air to flow.
So, for a good place to stay in a great part of Shanghai - you can not do much better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Don't bother with the breakfast, not great.

Excellent location, easy to get around, interesting area.

It was my first stay in China, so I was slightly intimidated by the range/selection of hotels, but this was a safe and pleasant experience.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#150 of 5,111 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#239 of 5,111 in Shanghai
257 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#198 of 5,111 in Shanghai
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#223 of 5,111 in Shanghai
232 reviews
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#453 of 5,111 in Shanghai
102 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#128 of 5,111 in Shanghai
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1 Fenyang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Formerly Cyts Eastern Huaihai Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#158 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Puxi. Just a few minutes walk to several key areas of the city. Shopping and dining is conveniently situated around the area. Free Broadband and wireless in all rooms. Rain forest shower cubical and bathtub in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing