We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice breakfast area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Scottsboro
Asheville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our room was very nice even though it seemed small. We had a king bed,microwave, fridge, desk, coffeemaker,etc. Everything was clean and in working order. The desk clerk was very friendly
We especially liked the roomy breakfast area with cereal, waffles and danish.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamagater71, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
thank you very much for the review. hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
4
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I wanted to stay at a relatively inexpensive hotel and found this online. Well - you pay for what you get :(

I had a heck of a time logging on to their Wi Fi and when I finally did , I had to call the front desk for a password only to find out that there wa another wi fi they used. I beleive it was the owner (who had a very strong accent so he was very hard to understand) who actually came up to the room while I was on the phone and walked my laptop down the outside hallway ot find reception. If you have sene the movie "RV" it was just like that!! The rooms have defintely seen better days. They advertise breakfast and when I called the day before, they said it was a continental breakfast. Although I was certainly not looking for a 5 course breakfast, they could have spent a few extra backs and at least had plates. My son said the cereal was stale and there was very little to choose from. Oh yea, they opted not to turn the lights on in the lobby either (I guess they were trying to save expenses). If you have to stay here, it is not great but not overly bad. I would search elsewhere before finalzing your schedule.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoffy_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here on our way to chattanooga and everything was in good order. I don't see why people have left bad reviews. The room was clean and had a microwave, fridg, wifi and cable tv with movie channels. People shouldn't expect a 5 star hotel for a budget price. In my opinion you get more
Then you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donaldp63029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robb h, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
thank you...this is robb at americas best value in scottsboro, we try to keep rooms up.. but sometimes people mess up and destroy things. makes me happy to read your review, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I am not happy with my stay at the Scottsboro, Alabama. It was the WORST place I have stayed. We have been traveling for nearly three weeks and I can't believe I had to sleep in a place like that.
When we first arrived, we notice there was a trail of ants around the door. I called the front desk. He came to look, even though I said bring some spray. Then he came back with some spray. He said he would come back with caulking to fill up the whole where they were going, AND NEVER DID! He tried to make excuses and say “they are just sugar ants” and “they won’t bite”. HELLOOOOOO!!!!!! Ants in a hotel room are UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!!!
We were so tired; we had to get some sleep. Later we went to dinner and came back.
We really didn’t look at the room until late………..
The bath tub was HORRIBLE. It was sooo dirty that we couldn't take a shower. The shower curtain had mold or something on it. There was some kind of pink glob on the walls of the shower. There were dirty hand prints on the wall. The coffee pot was dirty. There was someone's ice cream in the freezer. There was milk or something spilled in the refrigerator. There was a bug in one bed. The other bed had a dried up toe nail in it. The bedspread had stains on the underneath. There was mold or something on the wall… not to mention the lack of care to the walls, splattered marks and lack of care to the door. We had to stay because we were tired and couldn't go any further!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texastraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairylova
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel because of it's proximity to the Unclaimed Baggage store. There were not many options in the area. The Days Inn was disgusting and the Jameson Inn was too expensive for what they offered, so we chose the ABVI. The mattresses were moldy and the floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. Ever. But it was a place to sleep. It seems like mostly contractors stayed in the hotel so it was quiet in the evening and despite a couple of slamming doors at 6am, it was quiet in the morning as well.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? That's a tough question, because ordinarily, I'd say no, but if they had to stay in Scottsboro, it is their best option.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairylova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

We ended up here after finding that the Comfort Inn was full and after passing on the Days Inn down the street (see review), which was unbelievably filthy.

At a AAA rate of $47.50 per night we spent two nights here in a spacious king room, which included a sofa, fridge, and microwave. The room was nicely furnished and featured a TV with full cable, including HBO. Those were the pluses.

There were some negatives, mostly having to do with housekeeping and maintenance:

The refrigerator was off when we checked in and the tray below the freezer .was filled with stagnant, orange, moldy water. We emptied it ourselves and turned on the fridge, which worked fine.

The AC worked but needed cleaning as it pumped out moldy/mildewy air.

The bathtub was extremely dirty, which could have been remedied by some Bon Ami and 15 minutes worth of effort on the part of the housekeeper. There was a booger -- yes, booger! -- on the bathroom door.

The management, in an act of penny-pinching to save on water costs, had cut down the toilet fill tube so that the toilet would only fill to a low level, well below the fill line on the tank, only about halfway up. This meant, of course, that it lacked the oomph to flush properly, which led to a late-night backup. Ms. Maven had to roust the manager at 12:45 a.m., who asked her if she would like to plunge it. She said no, and the manager unhappily had to come and correct a situation of his own devising.

When we checked in, the desk clerk warned us that the breakfast was pretty bad, and she was right: There were donut holes, a couple of off-brand cereals, and bagels without cream cheese. The only spread was something yellow from Wal-Mart that was 60% vegetable oil. One morning there were no cups for coffee; the breakfast area was obviously an afterthought and not adequately maintained.

We would not stay here again unless everything else was full and the only choice was this or the Days Inn.

  • Liked — Spacious room, nicely furnished
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and poor maintenance
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The-Motel-Mavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamagater71, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
sorry for any inconvenience from the maintenance/manager, there is a new staff at Americas best value inn, we hope yiu will come back and stay with us again, we want youre stay to be pleasant and comfortable, thanks robb,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsboro
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Scottsboro
Quality Inn Scottsboro
#4 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
311.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Foley / Gulf Shores
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#6 of 10 in Scottsboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro
Address: 46 Micah Way, Scottsboro, AL 35769-4138 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Scottsboro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Scottsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Scottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Scottsboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing