We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corn Nuggets!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 50 Taters

50 Taters
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Scottsboro
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
706 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Corn Nuggets!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The Skinny:

Note: the address has changed from where google sends you, it's next to the Walmart
Parking- paved lot
Decor- 50's-ish
Bathroom- clean single
Service- friendly
Food- okay
Coke factor- perfectly carbonated and free refills

On our way to the Unclaimed Baggage Center (don't bother, not worth it) we stopped here for lunch. We were first in, immediately taken care of and by the time we left there, the place was hopping!
I ordered the Bama Cheesesteak sandwich which was HUGE and can feed 2 people. My hubby ordered the fried chicken with fries and corn nuggets and 2 pieces of Texas toast. The chicken was great, fries eh, toast terrific and the corn nuggets....odd. I had never even heard of them before so we had to try them. It's like deep fried creamed corn....

The waitress was very friendly and overall it was an okay lunch!

Helpful?
1 Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The 50's atmosphere is very fun and the wait staff is very friendly. The food could have been a little better and the wait time was a little longer than I would have expected, but it's worth a second visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I went here were very surprised prime rib was the special. It was reasonably priced and excellent. My husband had the rib eye. The marinade gave the steak great flavor. The baked potato was the side and it was plenty of food. Now lets talk about the dessert hot fudge cake sooooooooo gooood. The ice cream could have been more flavorful but was to large to finish. The pecan cobbler was much better than any pecan pie. It is worth the trip. And we will definatley will be going there again. The wait staff were excellent and very pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisamia422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celisa B, Owner at 50 Taters, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comment that was very nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, Alabama
1 review
“poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

food was alright...service was terrible...she brought the check with our food and that was it....she never ask if we needed refills or anything. The food was alright but I have to say it wasn't as good as the first time we ate there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnabow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We both ordered the barbecue plate with two sides. The barbecue was very good along with the mashed potatoes. The only complaint We have is that the barbecue was barely warm, if that. All of the other sides were hot. The place is always crowded, but we got a table pretty quickly both times we visited. We will visit again next time we are in Scottsboro.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CP2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 50 Taters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing