We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I checked in over two telephone calls. The first one, I was asked if I could be placed on hold, which I consented to. 9 minutes plus later, I figured they had forgotten about me, so I hung up and redialed. I got through again and the same person took my call, asking what she could do for me. I stated that I was on hold for nearly 10 minutes and hung up thinking she forgot me. She apologized and said she was busy with a customer. No problem.

I gave my credit card information, booked a room, and my son and I checked into our room. We should have been suspicious immediately, there were several items that were in the room. A bottle of Coca Cola, some popcorn, and some cereal...all unopened. There were a couple of writing pens on the counter in the bathroom. And, some of the hand soap was opened.
I took the items to the front desk and the receptionist assured me nobody had been in that room for some time. Whatever.

Lastly, we were kept up all night with various loud noises in & outside of the hotel. The room next door had absolutely zero consideration for anyone else as they were making noises equating to a basketball being bounced against the wall my headboard was against. This went on all night, till roughly 4 AM. My son was kept awake, I was kept awake, so I packed my things and we left. I did talk to the person on duty, and they did knock off a whole $10 from my bill. So much for the advertised 100% Satisfaction Guarantee!

Overall, the facilities were more than adequate. The condition of our room, other than someone leaving the food items, was satisfactory. But my room, and the room on the other side of the "active" room both complained, so it wasn't as if there was anything unsubstantiated. But I saved a whole $10.00.....
Needless to say I cannot recommend this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondEyezGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear DiamondEyezGuy,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We went to Selma for a family reunion. I've seen earlier reviews of this hotel, saying it may be the best in Selma. And, from what I've seen, it may be. There were not a lot of choices in Selma. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean as HI Express properties usually are. The breakfast bar was well stocked each morning. The only drawback was a lack of a meeting room, which we could have used for the reunion. There is a Wal-Mart down the road if you need something, but it's not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband was born in Selma, Alabama, and we recently visited there for his annual family reunion. They hold the reunion in a different city every year, and it had been many years since the entire family had gathered in this Southern city. For the uninitiated, Selma is best known for the 1965 Selma Voting Rights Movement and its Selma to Montgomery civil rights marches.

The Holiday Inn Express is located in the same complex as the Hampton Inn and Residence Suites. They're all basically simple walking distance from each other, so if you're traveling with a large party like we were and there isn't enough room at one hotel, you can book in either of the other two and know that you'll be very close to each other. This entire area is apparently brand new. The Holiday Inn Express was definitely very new looking - all the carpeting looked immaculate, along with the furniture, etc. The lobby is not big, but it does have 2 couches in it so family can wait during check in.

The Holiday Inn Express in Selma is a 3-story affair and is definitely up to the standards of all Holiday Inn Express hotels. We stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels nearly exclusively when we are traveling. Our exception is when we're in Orlando - we typically stay on Disney property then. But we like the Holiday Inn Express brand so much that we're thinking about trying it out in Orlando, too!

The staff in Selma - Jamie at the front desk, in particular - were great. Everyone was friendly - all staff greeted you upon encountering you in a hallway or on the elevator. The breakfast room was large and very nicely appointed with a couch, fireplace with a flat-screen TV above it. There was also a gentleman who was part of the maintenance staff - didn't get his name - but he was extra helpful with us and very understanding about how to deal with large groups. They do have 1 or 2 meeting rooms if needed, as well as a computer for guests' use. They have free WiFi which was very easy to connect to and which provided a reliable connection.

There is a nice pool at this property. It's not fancy, but it is very clean and serviceable. The kids in our group had a ball in it, and it's not too deep for 4 and 5 year-olds to enjoy. The pool is right off of the breakfast room, so we could keep an eye on the kids from both inside the breakfast room and at the 3 small outside tables that are situated at one end of the pool area. This hotel does provide a free, hot breakfast from 6 to 10 a.m., and it is standard fare for this hotel brand: mini muffins, mini bagels, toast, scrambled eggs, pancakes, various juices, coffee, tea, etc.

My husband indicated that when he was growing up, the only fast food joint in Selma was a Hardee's. There is now every kind of fast food joint possible, even Taco Bell. Not sure if the presence of multiple fast food indicates any kind of real PROGRESS, per se, but there are many other businesses now in Selma that were never there before - a large Wal-Mart and Walgreens, to name just two. They have brought commerce and jobs into the area, so it seems good from that perspective.

Selma is still very much a small Southern town with not a whole lot to do. But if you find yourself in Selma, you should feel comfortable staying at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank samies-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The room was ok except the sheets felt like they were coming off all night. Definitely a 2 star but felt like we paid for 3 star. The staff could use more training.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear travellight7,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you liked your room accommodations. We apologize for any problems you experienced with our staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

As expected, this Holiday Inn Express was a good choice. Nice hotel, nice people, Everything was up to Holiday Inn standards. This is probably the best hotel in Selma, which is a dying city!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Found out small pets are not allowed too late. Happily paid $200 fine as I shredded my Gold Elite Membership card.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trippished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel last month and the service was horrible. The desk clerk and assistant manager was rude and very unhelpful. First, she did not want to honor the price quoted to me during reservation. After about 10 minutes of dialogue, she reluctantly gave me the room. Once in the room, there were no clean towels and I was moved to another room. The next morning, the breakfast area attendant was not present and no coffee. Horrible stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Selma
Hampton Inn Selma
#1 of 10 in Selma
264 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn Selma
Quality Inn Selma
#5 of 10 in Selma
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Selma
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Marion
2.9 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#3 of 10 in Selma
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma

Address: 2000 Lincoln Way, Selma, AL 36701-6663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selma Hotel Offers Access to History You Can See The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Selma offers close proximity to many Selma attractions that chronicle America¿s Civil Rights history. Old Town Selma, a historically important town in Alabama's largest historic district, is just five minutes from our Selma accommodations. With 1,250 buildings that date back as far as the 1820s, Old Town Selma is a great place to experience old, Southern architecture and style. Other historic venues near our Selma hotel include the National Voting Rights Museum, National Civil Rights Museum and the Slavery and Civil War Museum. Our Selma hotel is conveniently located five minutes from the Carl C. Morgan Convention Center, Bush Hog LLC, and International Paper Company and ten minutes from Craig Industrial Complex. We make business travel easier by offering a meeting room, free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center with copy, fax, print and other services. You can expect a comfortable and quiet stay in our clean Selma hotel rooms, as we're the only hotel to offer 100% non-smoking accommodations in Selma. You'll sleep well in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows and be able to connect to free high-speed Internet access in every room. Don't settle for cheap hotels in Selma, AL; instead, enjoy the choice hotel amenities you deserve, like a complimentary hot breakfast bar and an outdoor pool, at HIE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Selma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing