We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service”

California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Spanish Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted “Best All Around Restaurant” at Taste of the Eastern Shore and “Best Place to Eat” by Baldwin County Now. Enjoy giant-sized fare from the California Dreaming kitchen like “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs, slow-cooked Prime Rib and the California Dreaming Salad, all prepared fresh daily. The lively setting is complete with an expansive patio overlooking the fountains at Eastern Shore Centre. The restaurant also features happy hour; late night bar bites; live music; large party carry-out, catering and accessibility for groups.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Visited California Dreaming for dinner with friends. Great service, good food, and great atmosphere. Good family atmosphere. Prime rib sandwich was wonderful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant accommodated our party of 15 with ease!! Our waitress was amazing! The food was very good and very filling. The portions were worth the price! We will go back if we are in the area!

Helpful?
Thank MandMmomFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Always enjoy this place. We were excited to see it as we were on our vacation driving from LA. To FL. I had the dreaming salad and it was quite good. Hubby got e ribs and said they were very good. We always enjoy the light flaky bread that comes with the meal. Sadly our waitress paid no attention to us but that did not affect the quality of the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2explrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best Pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

California Dreaming was the only one among the " classy restaurants" where I could get a table for Valentines day ( Booked a week before )! We absolutely did not regret the visit. Though we made our reservations, the place was full and we had to wait till 8:15 Pm for a 7.30 Reservation. But was expected during V day. The food was good, ambience ( except the v day crowd) was decent and price was definitely reasonable.

I was so happy to get a big plate full of yummy crab claws for appetizers for $9.95. More than the quantity what we would normally get for a higher price anywhere else. I ordered Chicken Sausage Pomodoro Pasta... wordless!! It was mouthwatering and cooked to perfection. But I would say the quantity was too much and two can share it. My husband had a Marinated Sirloin cooked to our preference. The only draw back I would say is, not all items comes with a side. You might want to order it separately. Ending it with a toast of a sweet wine lets me give a 4 star !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TangoCj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific baby back ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Took my wife there for lunch today. Both of us had baby back ribs, one rack apiece, and they were the best! The accompanying salad was very tasty, with a variety of veggies, lettuce, almond slivers, and even some boiled egg. I'm not much for salads, but I ate every bit of it. Ribs were spiced just right, and our veggie side was good too.

A nice touch was a hot towel with a wedge of lemon to clean up with afterwards. A nice treat for a wet, cold afternoon in the wintertime.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenkraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing