We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Del Sol

Casa Del Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Springville
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-owned and operated Mexican restaurant in beautiful downtown Springville, Alabama. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. (New ownership and management as of Jan. 2015)
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My family and I have eaten here twice. The first time the food was very good, but the service was not. The waiter was very rude. I assumed maybe it was a bad night, so we gave them another chance. The food was very good, and the service was better (not great).

The employees were not really friendly overall on either visit. Refills on drinks, chips, etc... was slow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_MadisonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very reliable and quite satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Del Sol is on Main Street in Springville--exit 154 on I-59, north on 174 to the stop sign, right for less than half mile, and it's on the right, directly across from the Methodist church. No liquor license, so forget the Modela or margarita. Decor is "home grown", the music is eclectic hispanic, and there is a tv on the wall. We eat there pretty often, maybe 6 times a year. In our experience, the food has been reliably good. Highly recommend carnitas--always tender and moist, and always so much that I have it again for lunch the next day. Guacamole has perhaps less "kick" than we might like, but doubt the local palettes are receptive to much garlic. For us, service always has been quick and friendly, and they take Amex. The more negative reviews are a real surprise to me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute place, but very unfriendly employees and the worst Mexican food my family has ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

I've been here once before years ago and don't remember it being this bad. The employees were all unfriendly. The waiter wouldn't even crack a smile or mumble a hello. I can put up with bad service if the food is good, but it was disgusting. Truly, their ground beef was horrible, their queso was weird, salsa tasteless, my husband said the chicken was even nasty. Do no eat here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great food, great price, attractive restaurant, high health dpet rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Outstanding Mexican Food, Chile Relleno, and the chicken soup were outstanding. chips and salsa are very good. i have ate there twice and will go out of my way to to visit now.

Family owned, very attractively decorated. takes all credit card.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roninboaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Food is ok. Not the best but also not the worst Mexican restaurant. The servers are friendly. Prices are decent.

Helpful?
Thank Dixiedarlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Casa Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing