We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Rest Bed and Breakfast---a pure pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Talladega B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We had the wonderful opportunity to experience the hospitality and great cooking of Rich and Ellen when I surprised my husband with a Talladaga Race Experience for his birthday....along with a stay at this fantastic B&B. Rich and Ellen were more than accommodating to make this a birthday that my husband will not forget and he still talks about. We have stayed at many B&Bs but none this spotless and none this accommodating. The food was delicious, the hosts are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are SPECTACULAR! The view of the lake at sunset was breathtaking and the use of their electric golf cart to drive around the lake was an added bonus. We can't wait to head their way again and enjoy another relaxing weekend getaway at their establishment and enjoy the lake and beach.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islasusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

We had the good fortune of staying with Richard & Ellen for two nights, although we wish it could have been (much) longer. It was a very relaxing stay, and their hospitality and extra touches made all the difference to us. Their house is beautiful, and sits on a hill overlooking a lake...the scene could not be more tranquil, especially with a new sunrise to watch each morning while enjoying coffee on their huge front porch . The bed slept very well (nice mattress with a mattress topper as well), and the only noises were birds in the morning, and the occasional owl (saw him on numerous occasions during the weekend). Breakfast was excellent: a fresh fruit parfait served on the porch, to be followed by a 3 egg open-faced omelet with everything, alongside creamy shrimp n grits. Richard made some recommendations (upon our request) for places to explore and where to eat, and was very helpful in that regards throughout the weekend. After our day out, we spent the afternoon in their beach chairs on the lake shore, just enjoying the herons and peaceful scene. Richard drove down in a golfcart (visitors are free to use them as well) to see if some iced tea and the local newspaper could add to our relaxation. The next morning we had to leave very early for a run, but Richard and Ellen still made sure we had coffee to take with us, along with some fresh-cut fruit and some incredible oatmeal. Again, it was all the little things that made our weekend so great. my wife gives full credit to the stay, and to Richard and Ellen's hospitality (and that oatmeal!), for helping her finish her first half-marathon. We highly recommend River Rest.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklufas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Beautiful home, delicious breakfast, relaxing setting. The hottub was very romantic in the evening looking out over the lake and all of the beautiful landscaping and woods surrounding you. Very comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This far exceeded our imagination of a bed and breakfast. We had no idea what to expect, as did the other four couples staying for the first time. No one wanted to leave. Richard and Ellen were the best in making everyone feel warm and pampered. I plan to tell everyone to go and plan to go back annually but also great for church retreats, couples or ladies weekend away. The beauty of the home and grounds is ten star.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglass1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Everything about this incredible B&B is absolutely top notch. We slept in a beautiful, comfortable bed in an immaculately clean room, FEASTED on a four-course breakfast every morning and snacks throughout the day, enjoyed a lovely view of the lake from the breakfast room, TV room, and jacuzzi tub, and were generally treated like royalty during our stay. The friendly staff welcomed us right into their home and made us feel that they were as happy to see us as old friends! Though the room rates may be a bit higher than others around town, I don't believe you will find a better value than at this delightful spot. The delicious and plentiful food alone made this place well worth the money in our book, and we can't wait to go back! We'd like to plan our next trip for the summertime, to take advantage of the beach chairs, dock slide into the lake, golf carts, and boat rides. :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMrsWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

River Rest B&B is my favorite place to stay. I've stayed there many times & am always made to feel right at home. The place is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are so very comfortable & the food is amazing! After just one visit, Richard & Ellen feel like old friends. I will definitely be back! River Rest is one of those places to go again & again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickieholladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

River Rest is the best B&B that I have ever visited. My husband and I are repeat visitors and will definitely return. Richard and Ellen are both warm and inviting while providing very personal service. You can immediately tell that quality is paramount and no corners are cut. We have stayed in several of the rooms which are always immaculate, wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. I can't even describe how amazing the mattress and pillows are. Richard cooks a tasty and plentiful breakfast and Ellen always has goodies available. What I like most though is the amazing warmth and peace that permeates the whole place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Mom2_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talladega
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Pell City
Comfort Suites Pell City
#2 of 5 in Pell City
103 reviews
12 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Talladega
12 mi away
Super 8 Talladega AL
Super 8 Talladega AL
#2 of 3 in Talladega
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham

Address: 3883 Griffitt Bend Rd, Talladega, AL 35160-8118
Region: United States > Alabama > Talladega
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Talladega
Price Range: £130 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lake country setting with modern conveniences. Food is traditional country breakfast to gourmet lick your lips twice. Beds have been reviewed as best sleep ever. Hosts are warm and friendly. Direct TV and Hi def TVs in all rooms. Golf cart available for country rides. White sandy beach with umbrellas. 1200 square foot deck for events and weddings. Indoor wedding can accommodate 50 while sitting and up to 100 standing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rest Bed And Breakfast - Birmingham Alabama/Talladega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing