We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we gave this a try!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
David's Catfish House
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Thomasville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Buhl, AL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad we gave this a try!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We decided to give David's a try on our way home from the beach. It happened to be a Sunday and their special was all you can eat fish and shrimp for $12.99. Service was great, food was great (even better than some that we had at the beach)! The coleslaw was the best I've ever had....couldn't quit eating it while waiting on our food! Will definitely make this a stop again in the future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjackson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing but Nice Things to Say about the Food and the Service!!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have driven by their place in Monroeville for years and have wanted to stop in but never had the time. So when they opened up a restaurant in Thomasville a while back my wife and I decided to give them a try. Their staff was very friendly and hospitable with all the sincere southern charm you would expect. The service was quick even with a sizable number of people filling the seats. They start you off with drinks and a nice bowl of cold slaw with plenty of saltine crackers. The food arrived quicker than expected and it was fresh and hot. I had the fried catfish and my wife had the popcorn shrimp. The catfish was favorable and the popcorn shrimp was tinder (not over cooked) with the lightest of batter that made them just perfect. The place reminds me of Ed's on the Gulf in Mobile in so many ways. We will surely be heading back again on our way back through town expecting the same great hospitality and excellent tasting food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodForOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What I expected”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Food was acceptable. Sweet tea was fantastic! Service slow even though they weren't busy. Prices a bit high.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
273 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best in Thomasville”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

David's Catfish (seafood, steaks, hard-to-find crab claws) is a multi-restaurant business in this region. Food is always great wherever you stop. Try the cole slaw. The buildings are different. This and Atmore AL are among my favorites. Restaurant is across from Walmart. From the front it looks small. Huge on the inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGinLA_loweralabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Great Catfish!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have eaten here several times and the quality of the food and the service is outstanding. Best catfish I have eaten in years. It is open 7 days a week now but only limited hours on Sunday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djmchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to David's Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing