We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE staff...Great place overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“NICE staff...Great place overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

This hotel was very nice...i like the way it looks like a little home. It really makes feels like a home away from home. The people there was great...and my kids really loved the fresh baked cookies & the hot breakfast...especially the waffle maker. Great place to relax at from a long drive...

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    103
    46
    19
    21
See reviews for
182
47
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed for 1 night. I liked that I had a fridge and microwave but the room had a bad smell. I think they had sewage issues. The hotel could use a face lift. It's only an 8 minute drive from there downtown area, which offers a lot to do.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplusjimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel is very nice...the rooms are great and the entire staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I was passing through Tuscaloosa and stayed at this hotel after reading a number of reviews online. Everything is pretty average -- the hotel itself is modern and the rooms are mid-sized. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a bit underwhelming for this class ... a few cold items and a waffle maker. I'm not a huge fan of the style of the place in general -- the swimming pool is tiny, the front "porch" is a bit of a joke, etc -- but it was a very comfortable stay and I didn't have any trouble with check in or check out.

Unless you like interstates and highways, there is nothing convenient about the location. It takes about 15 minutes to get downtown and I would have much preferred staying closer (within walking distance) to the restaurants, bars, etc, downtown.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Tuscaloosa once a month for business. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure we are comfortable. The hotel is always clean and I have never had a problem. I have been visiting there monthly for almost a year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhill256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I have stayed at various Country Inn & Suites, but this one is a disgrace to the franchise Country Inn & Suites. This hotel is not maintained inside at all. It is an old hotel and it appears the rugs in the hallway or the rooms were never shampooed. They are filthy. I would think of walking around the room barefoot. The furniture was old, scratched up, and chairs wobbled. The so called desk was a beat up table which was barely large enough to open up my lap top. You had to keep the bathroon door closed to exit and enter the room. The Continental breakfast was a joke. There was no fruit, etc. and stale bagels. I had to go to the front desk to replenish the washclothes (they'd take them but would leave clean ones). I could go on and on. The only nice thing I can say is that the staff was nice. One staff member offered to upgrade me to a Suite. We went to look at it and it was as bad as my room. So I stayed where I was at. My team member was telling me about his room.. It was like he was describing mine. I went and looked at it and yes it was just as bad. The owner just wants your money. He or she obviously has no intent on living up to the high standard that the Country Inn & Suites is suppose to represent. Don't stay there and pay into the managers slush fund!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MackTruck89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Upon check-in I was offered a room that had dirty towels on the floor and a bed that looked as though it has been slept in. I went back to the front desk to inquire about the apparent mix-up. I was then given another room and told that I was given a free upgrade like I won the lottery. The 'free' breakfast consisted of ALL processed foods. Stale bread, cold cereal and 2 (two) biscuits in the bread warmer...TWO. Fresh fruit consisted of 2 (two) grapefruits and one lonely apple. Not offering breakfast at all would be an immense improvement. I returned to my room on Day 2 and there was no face towels in the room. I called the front desk and was told "You can come down and get some if you like." It has been 10 years since I've stayed in a Country Inn hotel but it will be MUCH longer before I make a judgement error like this again. The overall management of this hotel need improvement and it might be time for Carlson to make a surprise inspection of this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shauste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
4.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Address: 4801 McFarland Boulevard East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#11 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tuscaloosa, the Country Inn & Suites provides cozy accommodations, friendly service and an ideal location sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Our Tuscaloosa hotel's facilities were recently renovated to include new carpeting throughout the hotel, a brand new Fitness Center, updated appliances and furniture and flat-screen TVs in every guest room. We continue to offer free high-speed Internet access and an outdoor swimming pool. Plus, Club Carlson Rewards members receive 20 Gold Points® for every dollar spent! So be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa hotel and enjoy the city's celebrated southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing