We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd look elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Capstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Capstone
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“I'd look elsewhere”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Nice and quiet, loved the location, nice staff. Unfortunately, the bathroom floor was covered with hair, there were ants in the room, the toilet seat was broken, and there was a weird gap between the bathroom tile and carpet that had collected dirt, hair, etc. Not as updated as pictures show.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WASfromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    82
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
149
23
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hotel Capstone. The staff was very helpful and personable. Mr. Hood and Ralph at the front desk were exceptionally helpful with my reservation. The bellman drove me and my daughter to the downtown area. He was great. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwest17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were there in early August for our son's wedding in Tuscaloosa. The hotel was wonderful and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful to us. Ralph at the front desk was attentive to the several requests we had due the logistics of the wedding and the number of family and friends who stayed there. Our experience could not have been better. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed at three other major hotel chains in Tuscaloosa and the Hotel Capstone is by far the friendliest, nicest hotel. I recently stayed at the Hotel Capstone with my daughter who was going through Sorority Recruitment at University of Alabama. From the minute we arrived the front desk staff (Ralph was fantastic!), restaurant staff, valet and housekeeping team provided exceptional service. Our room was very clean and quite sufficient for our stay. We also had a microwave and refrigerator which was great for our extended stay. The hotel has a great location and made it extremely easy for us to get around. Only .5 miles to Bryant Denny Stadium. It is on the East side of campus by the athletic facilities and alumni center. We ate at their restaurant Legends Bistro for their lunch buffet and dinner which were both very tasty. Didn't have a chance to try their breakfast buffet but heard it is yummy! They also have a nice pool area if you want some R & R or have kiddos. When we come back, we will definitely make this our top choice! You can't beat their service and hospitality!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I just spent 10 nights at Hotel Capstone and loved it! You can't beat the location for the University of Alabama. Our daughter is now a senior at UA, and Hotel Capstone is our favorite hotel in Tuscaloosa. We always text her excitedly when we've been able to get into the Capstone because we know our trip will be that much easier when we stay there--no endless driving in circles hoping for a parking place close to campus. The staff is so friendly, especially Ralph Shaw who makes it his personal mission to make sure you have a great stay! The staff at Legends Bistro are very attentive and friendly, and the appetizers in the bar are great! If you're lucky enough to get into Hotel Capstone, you won't want to stay anywhere else in Tuscaloosa!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and microwave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a quiet, mediocre hotel. Its on the campus of the University of Alabama; so if you have business at the University, its centrally located.
As part of a reunion, our room was approximately $105 per night; I understand that it is usually $130. In my opinion, it wasn't worth the money. I had to call to have the toilet seat reattached (so we wouldn't slide off) and the hall carpeting was way past needing shampooing.
This is a non-smoking hotel, but I didn't notice that the room was any cleaner than smoking rooms I've been in. We passed other hotels that were located on the main street.

Room Tip: I can't say I saw a difference from one room to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALUEHUNTER_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here a few days for graduation in August 2014. Hotel staff was so helpful. Location is super for University of Alabama. I really didn't need to use my rental car much. It isn't the cheapest, but I didn't experience any hassles!!! I can't wait to come back and stay for a football game. Roll Tide Roll!!!

Room Tip: Walking distance for all University of Alabama landmarks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Property: Hotel Capstone
Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capstone is ideally located on the University of Alabama's lovely Tuscaloosa campus and offers the perfect spot for business or leisure. Plan a meeting or event with us, and enjoy 8,300 sq. ft. of meeting space. Hotel Capstone is proud to be the only full-service hotel in the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing