We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    83
    60
    41
    60
See reviews for
143
46
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Have not stayed at Ramada Inns for quite a few years due to lack of maintenance. Friendly accommodating staff, clean bright fresh rooms, nice breakfast bar which included both warm and cold selections and whole fresh fruit. Location was perfect to access local shopping mall, fine dining, the University of Alabama campus, and highway leading to major airport. My one disappointment was the lack of a hot-tub. There was a variety of fitness equipment in good working condition. Laundry room machines well maintained.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quiet. Second floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betharmon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We take pride in our hotel and hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
-John
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was my second time staying at this hotel. In fact, I deliberately CHOSE this hotel because I had stayed there last year in October and had such a positive experience. All of the employees that I had the pleasure of dealing with last year were no longer working there. I was SO disappointed! My room was dirty, the bathroom reaked of mold.mildew, I had to keep the bathroom door shut because the shower curtain smelled so awful. There wasn't a piece of facial tissue to be found! I even took the empty box and left it so someone would re-fill it- Never happened! The staff was cold. The pool was covered despite high 80 degree temperatures and sunny days. Last year the pool was open (I was there the same week) and I sat pool side every day. This time I was afraid to leave my room for any reason other than to go off for the day! There was a lot of noise outside of my room at all hours on any day, I would see staff outside smoking along the back of the building during the day. The TV was a nice flat screen TV, but the reception was terrible. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were changed daily. There was a small coffee pot in the room, but housekeeping forgot to refill the coffee on 2 occasions. The rug was filthy and my feet would turn black within 1/2 hour of showering. I do not know what happened to the "old" management, but it seems to me that the current management just doesn't care. Gone were the days of being greeted by name. I even went and introduced myself to the front desk and was greeted with little more than a sigh. I was no more than a pay source for this hotel and will NOT be returning there when I visit my daughter in tuscaloosa again.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnsplace1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We want to thank you for review. We are disappointed that your second stay with us was not as pleasureable as your first. We have taken your comments serious and will be investigating why there was such a measureable difference in each stay.

Thank You
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The staff is what made this resort. Upon arrival Friday, staff had the hotel decorated with Crimson Tide banners, red punch, cookies, and bottled water. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting area places to dine and drink. The room was clean, the only thing that was a detriment was the location. It was a tad bit off the beaten path, obviously something beyond management control. If you are traveling to Tuscaloosa for a Tide game, plan on renting a car or paying for cabs. Fortunately, I have some friends in the area who were kind enough to give us rides around the city. We plan on returning for more games in the future, this was our first visit, and the Ramada will definitely be a contender. Great pool!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheriff3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to always make our guest feel comfortable and I'm glad to know that our staff did exactly that for you!

Thank You
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

My young son and I needed a place to spend the night while visiting my daughter who is a new freshman at the University of Alabama. Because my daughter is a bit homesick, I decided to bring along our 12 year old sweet family cat to cheer her up. So, I also needed a place that allows pets. And the Ramada just so happens to allow small pets up to 30 lbs in their exterior corridor rooms. The Inn was overall what I expected and met our needs well. Our room was clean and although you can tell the Inn is older, there are some modern touches like a flat screen TV and fresh neutral paint. The breakfast was basic but had a few extras like a Belgian Waffle maker and fresh fruit. The Inn also has a very nice pool area, especially for a economy chain. This place is not luxurious, but it's not suppose to be. If you have reasonable expectations of what Ramada is known to offer who will be satisfied. I would definitely stay here again based on our experience and the closeness to the university, (5 miles.). However, when not bringing along the family cat I will choose an interior corridor room for better quality and sound control. Give them a try, their staff is very pleasant also.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank layla_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We do strive to make sure every guest feel welcome and realize that our property may not be new, but we do always want to strive that our rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hospitably yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tuscaloosa

Property: Ramada Tuscaloosa
Address: 631 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Ramada Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing