We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My sister and I planned our Family Weekend vacation in July and this was the only hotel that was still avaliable in the Tuscaloosa area at that time. It looks relatively nice on the outside, but the inside is disgusting. There was some sort of black mold-like substance on the walls and when we opened the door a rush of mold smell wafted out of the room. Since the entire city was sold out, there wasn't any other place for us to go. The carpet had an oily feel to it, the bathroom had broken and missing tiles, the refrigerator was not clean on the inside, and the overall condition of the room was deplorable. When we asked about internet access so we could print off our boarding passes to fly home, we were told there wasn't a computer available. The continental breakfast was dismal with cereal, milk, packaged pasteries and coffee.
If you have the opportunity to stay somewhere else in Tuscaloosa, do so and stay away from this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    7
    4
    18
See reviews for
15
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
402 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here only one night while riding thru Tuscaloosa. Two story motel with exterior doors to rooms. Check in was quick and the hotel staff was friendly and offered suggestions on places to eat. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
My room was on the ground floor and was a king, non-smoking room with a sofa. The room was very dated with old style tv, old bed spread and microwave and fridge. Small outdated bathroom with sink in the room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Free continental breakfast which was basicially nonexistent. Only saw coffee, orange juice and a couple muffins. Seasonal outdoor pool.
My stay was ok but if I'm ever in the area again, I'll probably stay somewhere more modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Here for UA graduation, staff friendly, room awful:
1) 3 of 6 lights not working
2) some kind of brown/black "goop" on; back of door, door knobs, phone directory placard
3) dead bug in coffee maker
4) carpet extremely dirty
5) areas around door filthy
6) tub stained/dirty
7) cigarette tar stains on numerous horizontal surfaces
8) furniture clean, but, scuffed,scratched and in need of repair/replace

Hey, I understand this is a "value" hotel, but at least it can be clean! Tempted to eat the loss of a priceline.com deal ($55 nt + tax/ fees) X 2 nights. We will never stay in a Econolodge again.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stopped here spur of the moment. Nice to find friendly staff and a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here for a total of six nights. Never had a problem. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The room was clean enough. Yes, it's definitely a dated hotel and you can tell. I agree that the bathroom could have used a little more attention, but it wasn't anything that I couldn't deal with.

The place can be difficult to find because it is behind some restaurants.

The one thing I found is the rooms have colored sheets (Kings were Pink!). I thought this was a bit refreshing. It was different than your typical white sheets! I did see Blue sheets on the housekeeping cart.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed 1 night, we were just passing through the area, The room was rather clean, but the bathroom could have used a little more bleach (was a little mold around the grab bar in the tub) but over all it was good. we stayed in room 202 (which was right above the office). It has good lighting, the room had fairly new carpet and the bed sheet and all were really soft and the bed comfortable. The only really dated things in the room was the mini fridge and microwave. The worst thing that i could say about the place was the entrance was not well marked ( it sits behind a couple of restaurants and the free breakfast is a joke. (had your choice of Cheerios, generic Raisin Brain, or mini blueberry muffins. I did not even find any milk for the cereal.)

Room Tip: we like the room upstairs above the office, but be sure to park to the right of the office so you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotaunt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is not a Comfort property you want to bring your family to but if you are roaming alone, this should be your place. Very nice helpful staff in a property that provides basic sleep rooms with a no nonsense breakfast. It is relatively secure area with numerous fast food places within walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the king rooms. It is worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#15 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Tuscaloosa
WoodSpring Suites Tuscaloosa
#24 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 4501 McFarland Blvd. E., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscaloosa Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing