We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mold everywhere”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Came to visit from Kentucky for a 3 day weekend. Stayed here one night. The bathroom ceiling was COVERED in mold. Around the toilets were filthy. Chairs were broke and when you open the refrigerator it fell out in the floor. We checked out and went up the street to microtel! Not to mention having to smell marijuana smoke coming from the next room

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    7
    4
    18
See reviews for
15
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a very old Motel in need of a lot of work! It's in a convenient location, just off the Interstate with plenty of restaurants and shopping around. The motel is old, old, old and needs update desperately.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ct_travelers_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a football weekend and all I can say is "Run"!. Our room was horrible, including blood stains on the shower curtain, vomit stains on the chair, mildew in the shower, a rattling air conditioner, and sheets and pillows that have to be 20 years or older. The breakfast is an absolute joke consisting of stale mini muffins and weak coffee. When informed of all our issues, the hotel manager was extremely rude, however said they would correct everything the second night (while we were at the Bama game), and the only thing done when we returned was a new chair. When I called to complain, I was informed they would take 10% off my bill. Considering our room was over $200 per night, I feel like I've been conned. I sent a letter to the corporate office, Choice Hotels, and they did nothing but send me a form letter apologizing. I will never stay at another EconoLodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My sister and I planned our Family Weekend vacation in July and this was the only hotel that was still avaliable in the Tuscaloosa area at that time. It looks relatively nice on the outside, but the inside is disgusting. There was some sort of black mold-like substance on the walls and when we opened the door a rush of mold smell wafted out of the room. Since the entire city was sold out, there wasn't any other place for us to go. The carpet had an oily feel to it, the bathroom had broken and missing tiles, the refrigerator was not clean on the inside, and the overall condition of the room was deplorable. When we asked about internet access so we could print off our boarding passes to fly home, we were told there wasn't a computer available. The continental breakfast was dismal with cereal, milk, packaged pasteries and coffee.
If you have the opportunity to stay somewhere else in Tuscaloosa, do so and stay away from this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here only one night while riding thru Tuscaloosa. Two story motel with exterior doors to rooms. Check in was quick and the hotel staff was friendly and offered suggestions on places to eat. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
My room was on the ground floor and was a king, non-smoking room with a sofa. The room was very dated with old style tv, old bed spread and microwave and fridge. Small outdated bathroom with sink in the room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Free continental breakfast which was basicially nonexistent. Only saw coffee, orange juice and a couple muffins. Seasonal outdoor pool.
My stay was ok but if I'm ever in the area again, I'll probably stay somewhere more modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Ga
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Here for UA graduation, staff friendly, room awful:
1) 3 of 6 lights not working
2) some kind of brown/black "goop" on; back of door, door knobs, phone directory placard
3) dead bug in coffee maker
4) carpet extremely dirty
5) areas around door filthy
6) tub stained/dirty
7) cigarette tar stains on numerous horizontal surfaces
8) furniture clean, but, scuffed,scratched and in need of repair/replace

Hey, I understand this is a "value" hotel, but at least it can be clean! Tempted to eat the loss of a priceline.com deal ($55 nt + tax/ fees) X 2 nights. We will never stay in a Econolodge again.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stopped here spur of the moment. Nice to find friendly staff and a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#12 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 4501 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscaloosa Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing