We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We were passing through heading to Gulf Shore. Checked Trip Advisor and decided to stay here. The guy that checked us in was very nice. The room was clean. The check out was fast as well. No complaints here. There is an O Charley's next door which is a real plus as well.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Goldwing1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so happy that of your many choices for hotel accommodations in Tuscaloosa you decided on BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn. We are pleased to hear that your expectations were met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Best Western University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good breakfast and friendly staff. The family enjoyed it. The room was quiet and clean as were the public areas and hallways. We traveled to Tuscaloosa so my son could visit the University of Alabama.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pcbpcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I am so glad to hear that your stay at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn met or exceeded your expectations. We hope you and your son were both impressed with the AWESOME University of Alabama and that your travels bring you back to both our hotel and the University.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I hope Best Western steps up its game. One hundred dollars a night is a lot of money. I stayed there because I did not want to sleep in a dive, but if I find something better for the money Best Western will lose my business.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Alfreda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Alfreda Cooper,

As I answered your complaints in an earlier survey I repeat.

We are very sorry that you did not like our new mattresses, new air conditioning units or our recently renovated lobby and breakfast area or the maintenance being performed in our parking area.

In reviewing your check out our front desk clerk asked you and your sister, Cordelia how your stay was and you both replied everything was fine. It wasn't until you both discussed the cost of the room extensively that it appeared you were unhappy. Your brother asked to use the front desk phone to make a long distance call and was allowed to do so at no charge. He too was asked about his stay and stated everything was great and he appeared content and happy.

When our guest experience problems during their stay we take immediate action to address and correct any issues they may be experiencing as would have been the case here. We assumed that since you did not complain of anything at checkout other than the amount that was the only dislike you had.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 205-556-9690

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family of four stopped here on our long road trip from TX to SC. The room is nice and clean, the staff is very friendly (especially the breakfast staff), and the breakfast is delicious! Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Graciella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We appreciate the compliments to our breakfast staff. We are thankful that you chose our hotel for your hotel accommodations while in Tuscaloosa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I am very picky about where we stay. I'm the kind of person who always checks the bathrooms and pulls back the sheets upon arrival to check for cleanliness.
I read the reviews for this Best Western and decided to give it a try. We stayed one night on our way to Gatlinburg.
We were very pleased with our stay. It was extremely clean, the beds were very comfortable, the location was great, the breakfast was very satisfying, and the price can't be beat!
We will definitely stay again should we ever travel through the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarLandExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for being our Guest at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn and for such an awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel literally by accident late one night. We were looking for a reasonable room and Best Western is usually our first choice. This hotel ended up being exceptional in every way. Rachel was very sweet, kind, and knowledgeable when she checked us in and Martina prepared our room immaculately. We will definitely stay here when in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Our employees are grateful when our guest recognize them on a job well done. We hope to see you again soon should your travels bring you back to Tuscaloosa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and both times have been great. The staff is friendly and helpful. You get a hot breakfast in the morning. The rooms are clean and modern. The pool is nice. And if you forgot to bring a beach towel for the pool... no worries, they will provide you with one if you ask. The entrance is a little confusing because you must go through the O'Charley's parking lot, but that is really the only thing that keeps it from being excellent. The price is right. And you are centrally located. The University of Alabama is about 15 minutes away. And you are in the center of lots of food and shopping. I highly recommend that you check it out when as an option if you are going to be in town. And if you happen to be a smoker, as I am, they even have smoking rooms available.

Room Tip: Both times I have stayed I have had a second floor room. But they have been nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you VERY much for such an awesome review. We strive to make each guest stay as comfortable and memorable as we possibly can. Thank you also for being loyal to BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn and the BEST WESTERN Brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.5 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#11 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: £70 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Tuscaloosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing