We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining”
Review of Evangeline's

Evangeline's
Ranked #14 of 296 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is our super special occasion restaurant in Tuscaloosa. Anniversary, birthdays, graduation. We dress up and feel special, here. The food is unique and always perfectly and interestingly prepared. They have chef specialties which keeps the menu interesting. It's a charmingly intimate atmosphere. The wait staff has always been knowledgeable and professional. Love this restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickelbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    11
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Shrimp and grits! Yummo”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fine dining with excellent atmosphere as well as specific food entrees. Fish tacos , chicken salad and the yummy shrimp and grits. Always a home prepared desert to offer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Renea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Always Consistently Good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened 13+ years ago. The manager, David Simpson, does an excellent job in keeping a good chef. The menu is not complicated but always has good variety and the food is well prepared. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing and rarely has it been crowded. When we make a reservation to go to Evangeline's, we know that we will be in for a treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chipper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service doesn't match the food quality”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have been there numerous times before while visiting my daughter at UA. Had once thought it was the only really good restaurant in the area. The service was rushed to say the least. Standing over you and pressing you to order; and as soon as one course is finished the next one is already over your head ready to be place on the table. Drinks and wine are pushed on you before you are finished. This is either a hyperactive staff that has uncontrollable tendencies or they are just pushing to get the next table seated. We were there on a quiet evening and felt like we were being pushed to get out the door from the first minute we arrived.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank freq-trvlr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_S_Evangelines, Public Relations Manager at Evangeline's, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I hate to hear your time dining with us was unpleasant. Please grant us the opportunity to provide you the service you deserve and our regular patrons have come to expect. Please give us a call at your convenience.

Kori Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Calm elegance and good food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have visited Evangeline's three times, once for lunch and twice for dinner. Lunch and one dinner were for 2 people. The 3rd meal was a party of 10. Each time was just lovely. The decor is nothing like anywhere else in Tuscaloosa. The restaurant is in the back of the Galleria Shopping center off McFarland Blvd on the way to Northport. I had no idea what to expect the first time I went for lunch. I had gotten a coupon from a site called POSH specific to Tuscaloosa and Birmingham or would never have known about it. The walls are a lovely cool, blue-gray with windows all around hung with antique lanterns. The tables have crisp white linens and low candles. It is charming and relaxed and very elegant. The menu has items like crabcake salad and risottos along with heavier meals but is more on the light side. Do not miss the fried green tomato appetizer if it is in season. Utterly original and delicious. They also have a chef's choice bread pudding. I have had two kinds and neither the chocolate chip nor the cinnamon were anything but great.The service and food was excellent for each meal, even the party of 10 on a very busy football weekend in Tuscaloosa. I strongly advise that you call early for reservations on football weekends. They do not participate in Open Table and you must call. They will not answer often since they are small and busy but will call you back with a confirmation if you leave your details and a contact number.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evangeline's also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Evangeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing