We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oaks - A Destination”

The Oaks - Home of Booker T. Washington
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Tuskegee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 15-room home where Booker T. Washington lived.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Oaks - A Destination”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

When you visit the Oaks on the campus of Tuskegee University, you are not just getting a brief tour of the house where one of America's most formidable leader once lived. As you are lead from room to room the tour guide tells the story of Mr. Washington's beliefs, habits, travels, and love, passion and dedication for the school and its students.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MsIVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuskegee Institute, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuskegee Institute - My Hometown”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

First home in community built with indoor plumbing. Hand built by students attending Tuskegee Institute now Tuskegee University.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jolai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Oaks tour is a Must-do!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I visited the Oaks house during tuskegee's homecoming weekend and it was definitely the highlight of my trip. I did not attend the university and this was my first visit so it was delight to tour the house and learn more about Booker T. Washington and America's history. Our guide - Levester, I believe, was a recent Tuskegee grad and a local. He was fantastic! Very passionate and informed about the history of the home and the history of the era. I could have talked to him all day. What a joy to find a Park Ranger who is so passionate about sharing our history.

Helpful?
2 Thank RoxxieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“inspiring look into the face of vision and perseverance”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our tour of The Oaks was awesome as our Ranger guide was a graduate of Tuskegee University and very knowledgeable of not only The Oaks, but the University, and the area in general. You must meet your guide at the Carver Museum. If you wait at The Oaks the rangers has no way of knowing you are there. Large groups must make reservations as they have a limit of 15 participants per group. Our homeschool family visited as an extension of our study of Historical Black College and Universities. We began with a walk from the campus over to the Oaks. The ranger answered questions and gave us a brief history of how the University began and briefed us on its current developments. From there the ranger took us through the home explaining the details of each room, its construction and purpose. The home is filled with historic artifacts that carry you on a journey back into a time of vision, innovation, and perseverance. We found the tour to be inspiring as we took what we learned there and applied it to our lives.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBeingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houstonburbs
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful as well as educational”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very beautiful as well as interesting. Educational!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oaks - Home of Booker T. Washington also viewed

 

Been to The Oaks - Home of Booker T. Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing