We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRUE SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valley Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Valley Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My fiance and I visited this B&B for Valentine's Day. We had an awesome experience, upon our arrival we were gretted by Jim Bunch who was an excellent host for the weekend. Th e cooking was "THE BOMB," grits, hashbrowns, biscuits, eggs any way you like, and the best french toast south of the mason dixon line. So if your looking for a place to stay with great views, quit, relaxing and hospitable this is the place to be, I will definitely be back with the entire family. Thank you for a FAB weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is the type of place that you read about in historical novels!!!! We took a road trip through some of the southern states with my husband, our children and my parents. Thankfully, Winston Place was on our path. The owner provided us with a tour upon our arrival, description of the history of the home and the families that have owned it. The house is beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and the Bunch family have been able to capture perfect southern charm within it's walls. Our children were able to see fire flies for the first time and able to catch them, while we enjoyed time in the rockers on the picture perfect front porch. Our sleep was great, breakfast was fantastic and the French toast was so wonderful no words can describe it!!!! The owner was incredibly hospitable and he also graciously gave us a peek into his life as a major football icon in Alabama. This was undeniably our favorite stop on our trip. My father is still repeating football stories to those who ask what was most memorable about his trip. This is most definately an Alabama treasure!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wilfred7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at Winston Place. We stayed there for two nights during the longest yard sale in August hunting for antiques. The mansion is absolutely beautiful and filled with gorgeous antiques. The breakfast was so good and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Jim and Leslie were fantastic hosts! Being from Bakersfield, CA, we had never seen a lightning bug until we stayed there and so enjoyed sitting on the dreamy front porch watching natures light show!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you like the movie "Gone with the Wind" then you will love the Winston Place. The house is awesome and the decor inside is beautiful. Most of the house is antiquey but the kitchen and sunroom are modern. You can get your fill of the antebellum life and then go to the sunroom to watch the large flat screen TV or play pool. If modern is not what you want you can stay in the sitting room, dining room, or any of the bedrooms. They are all decked out with antiques. The front porch has very comfortable rockers. Our room had a king size bed that must have had a pillow top on it. We sunk into it and slept like babies. The owner "Jim" was absolutely fantastic. He was very hospitable and the breakfast he prepared was great. He made baked French toast and I could have eaten it till I burst. We will defiantly go back for another great weekend.

Room Tip: Any of them would be nice even the room with the 2 twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crash0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

What a surprise! Winston Place is the kind of B&B that we've always dreamed of finding. it's a beautiful historic antebellum mansion reminiscent of Gone With the Wind. From the moment we walked in the door Jim made us feel at home. He gave us a tour of the mansion and the grounds describing the history of the estate, the area, the Winston family and his family. His warmth and skills as a story teller are amazing -- we could have spent the weekend just visiting with Jim. The house has 5 unique suites that are beautifully decorated, a formal parlor, dining room, kitchen, and rec room with pool table, games and large screen TV. The house is filled with antique furniture and family memorabilia that give the house a homey feel. Jim cooked an amazing breakfast both mornings -- the French Toast is to die for. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Winston Place is charming and beautiful. We spent three nights and enjoyed every moment. The house and grounds are rich with history and each guest room is perfectly appointed. We felt very comfortable from the moment we arrived and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of our hosts, Jim and Leslie. Our room was clean, comfortable and beautiful. The family room downstairs is a great place to hang out complete with flat screen tv and pool table. Jim cooked a delicious breakfast each morning and provided entertaining stories about local history and Alabama football. I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting Lookout Mountain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend!! We had an amazing breakfast and we WERE Not served leftovers! The french toast casserole was incredible! My husband loved the bacon!! Jim and Leslie were wonderful hosts and so welcoming. We are both huge Alabama football fans so Jim's history with Alabama football was an added bonus. We will definitley be back!!

Room Tip: There are multiple rooms depending on your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RichMc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion

Address: P.O. Box 165, 353 Railroad Street, Valley Head, AL 35989-0165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Valley Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valley Head
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion Hotel Valley Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing