We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful, peaceful, and friendly place I have ever been.”
Review of Norma's Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norma's Villas
Reviewed 1 January 2010

My vacation in late 2008-early 2009 marked my 5th trip to Costa Rica as well as my 5th stay at Norma's Villas. I have stayed anywhere from 4 days to 2 months at Norma's and consider it the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, and beautiful location.
As a single female traveler, I felt safe and comfortable and the owners made me feel at home. Norma speaks English very well and her husband Carlos, although he does not speak English, is a wonderfully friendly and helpful man.
This quaint and clean little resort boasts 3 swimming pools, always beautifully kept. There is a tennis court and plently of natural landscape to explore. Indigineous species of iguana, birds, butterflies, and other animals are at home at Norma's. I loved to sit out by the "picnic tree" and just admire the beauty of the place. There are orchids growing from the picnic tree, as well as all over the grounds.
All villas are fully equipped for a short or long-term stay. I especially liked having a kitchen where I could cook my own meals, especially on longer visits. There is a small grocery store in walking distance from the villas and the larger town of Alajuela is only 20 minutes away, with plenty of shopping opportunities.
Local or day -trip "attractions" include the country's zoo (Zoo Ave), a butterfly farm, Volcan Poas, and many bars/restaurants, to name a few. The Pacific Ocean and its beautiful beaches are less than 2 hours away. While I prefer staying in the quiet town of La Garita, for a change of pace, the city life in San Jose is only 40 minutes away.
Only 20 minutes from the International Airport, Norma's makes a perfect spot to stay at the beginning or end of a vacation. I WILL be returning to CR and Normas in the very near future and highly recommend it to families, singles, girlfriend retreats, and retired persons. The only people I wouldn't recommend for Norma's would be those looking for a non-stop wild party!
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bella929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

I just spent a month at Norma's during the off season. Absolutely a great place to stay. Cooking facilities and stand alone homes. Mine was a one bedroom with a combination living room kitchen. Perfect for one or two. The grounds are perfectly maintained as are the units... No heat-- no air-- NONE NEEDED. Perfect weather.

Conveniently located to San Jose, the mountain sites, volcanoes, and the beaches. Use this place to see the country by day trips in cars... or conveniently arranged tours, massages, etc. Ask Norma... she can help with everything. If you speak a little Spanish, the staff is always cordial and nice. especially Carlos.. Laundry care available also.. Very secure with some very good restaurants near by.

Basketball, tennis courts, pavilion, three pools, lots of fresh fruit on the on site trees.. and beautiful tropical flowers with mountains surrounding...

Enjoy..

Jerry Myers

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My two-day stay at Norma's Villas was a perfect way to start my two-week vacation in Costa Rica. Rick met me at the airport and drove me to the compound - ten fenced acres with diffferent sizes of villas/cottages, a common social area with couches and chairs next to the upper pool, a second large swimming pool with an adjoining covered area with four hammocks, trails, a stream, and a laundry facility accessible to guests.

I stayed in a lovely villa/cottage with a kitchen. I enjoyed swimming - there are two large pools - and relaxing in the hammocks provided. Guests are free to wander the ten acres - and birds and butterflies are abundant.

Rick & Carlos (Norma was away for a family gathering) make you feel right at home and provide mamy services - including laundry facilities and free phone calls within Costa Rica.

There were several couples staying there at the same time and, I believe, a family with children. This is a great place for anyone - as a single woman traveling solo, I was made to feel totally welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MariaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at Norma's Villas for the months of Feb. and March of 2008. We have nothing but good to say about the facilities and the family that owns the villas. The property is beautiful, pools awesome and climate the best. There is lots to do right on the property but it is also located close to the airport, San Jose, Alajuela and all Central Valley attractions. Located on a main bus line it makes travel throughout Costa Rica convient and inexpensive. For a relaxing and fulfilling vacation we highly recommend Norma's. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank quiltlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank schuimpie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Province of Alajuela hotels
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
5.7 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
58 reviews
64.7 mi away
Villa Celeste Katira
Villa Celeste Katira
#1 of 2 in Katira
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Hotel Cabinas La Hacienda
14.7 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
694 reviews
48.5 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norma's Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norma's Villas

Address: 200 Mtrs Oeste de La Plaza de Futbo | La Garita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Province of Alajuela
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Normas Villas is located in La Garita, Alajuela. This community of 14 individual villas is located on 5 acres includes 2 swimming pools, Hammock Hut, Sunbathing pool, BBQ pit, Open patios, bar and Rest exclusive to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norma's Villas Costa Rica/Province Of Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing