We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is THE BEST!!!!”
Review of 1915 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1915 Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed for one night only on our way out of Costa Rica. We found the hotel through the Lonely Planet guide while we were driving back to Alajuela and they highly recommended it so we thought we'd give it a shot. It was just incredible. The owner and her granddaughter were so accomodating. The place is just incredibly gorgeous inside with these amazing tile floors and little areas that are open to the outdoor air. They gave us our choice of rooms which was great. There is a computer in the restaurant area that is for the guests use which really helped with airline check in. We were offered some amazing cantaloupe juice when we got there. (This is a bonus of Costa Rica - fresh juice of all kinds everywhere you go.) There is a little secure parking area across the street if you have a car. It's in the city of Alajuela itself which is literally 3 minutes I think from the airport. 5 minutes tops. When we got back to the hotel after dinner their overnight staff was there - Daisy. She was fantastic and spent some time talking with us. She was also there in the morning to work with the chef who prepared an amazing breakfast for us at 5:30am so that we could leave on our way well fed. I just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you are considering a night in Alajuela please STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marykaymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2008

The positive: We stayed in the Hotel 1915 on our first night in Costa Rica and found the hotel very charming and the staff friendly. The breakfast was also the best we had during our two week stay.
The Negative: We arranged (in person) to stay the night before we flew out, but by the time we arrived we were told that a group booking for 6 rooms (which was claimed to have been booked a year ago!) had mysteriously not been in the log and as such they had double booked. It was pretty clear that the group had arrived and management had given them our booking to increase revenue. We were shifted into a poor alternative around the corner (Charly's Hotel) which was dirty and noisy. Management did not care to inform us of their sudden 'discovery' of a 6 room booking and as such this left a bitter taste to the end of our vacation.
A warning to all, make sure you confirm bookings a day or two in advance as this was not the only time this occurred.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Globetrotters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I read about this hotel in the LonelyPlanet and on Trip Advisor and I am really glad that we (Wife, 18 month old baby, parents-in-law) ended up staying here. We all really liked it. Not only is the hotel about a 10 minute drive to the airport, but the hotel itself is really cozy and charming. Be sure to get a room in the back by the common area. The owner told me that they had recently renovated the place. It's like stepping back in time. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoingOnDowntheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at the 1915 for 4 nights and were truly impressed. The staff helped arrange trips and made helpful suggestions on what to do. The rooms were clean but most impressive were the common rooms which were decorated in a stylish yet warm fashion. If you need a place to stay near San Jose I highly recommend the 1915!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donaldjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

On arriving at the Hotel 1915 we thought the place must be closed. We didn't have a reservation and there was no sign of life from the outside. But, looking closely, we saw a doorbell and were let in. The lady greeting us did not know English and our Spanish is poor so she called a fellow who came and helped us book a room. This took a few minutes and while we were waiting we were taken through the lovely courtyard for some fresh-squeezed juice served by pleasant staff.

The rooms are inside this Spanish-style building, so that when you open your room window you are looking into the courtyard rather than the street. Decorated in antiques, the entire place is a pleasure. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food is great. The price was very reasonable as well. Overall, it was another example of the Costa Rican hospitality that has me aching to go back again and again.

Nearby are some very good restaurants, some bars, a couple of squares and the market, where I'm pretty sure everything you could dream of is for sale...cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Blast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Great Hotel which oozes charm!!!!! Friendly and Helpful staff, though a bit noisy at times. Great Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This little hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but is a very wonderful little secret inside. Everything about this hotel is great, the staff is absolutely wonderful.

It is very centrally located and very clean, with fairly large rooms. An open common area that is very well appointed with lovely furniture and paintings. The breakfast is good and the price is excellent.

If you have to wait in Alaquela for a plane out of Costa Rica, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
2.5 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.7 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range: £52 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1915 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 1915 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing