We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mango
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
18
24
16
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
24
16
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelmango treeclean roomscute dogamerican hotelsentrance gatethe holiday inntypical costa rican breakfastnice poolair portnear airportbasic roomchain hotelcab ridefelt safeswimming poolsan jose
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I'm not sure about all the terrible ratings of this hotel, it's certainly not a 5 star experience but our room, #9, was clean, everything worked correctly, and the restaurant served a decent complimentary breakfast. Hotel Mango is located under the flight path of SJO so it's a bit noisy at times, but so are all the other hotels located along here.

Our biggest complaint was that the wi-fi was not working, apparently in the whole hotel,our laptops could not connect, neither could the lobby computer.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, with refills, fruit and a Tico plate of eggs, toast, and rice and beans. The food was good and the dining area was clean.

The lady at the front desk helped us with or cab and found us a driver that spoke English and knew San Raphael, another pleasant perk.

We've stayed there 3-4 times over the years and would again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Close proximity to SJO, but our 4:30am wake up call never came. Being so close to the airport, one would think the staff would be more attentive to the early departures. Security guard showed us the paper where the wake up call was written down, then refused to open the gate until I returned the room key, even though I was returning to the room. Eventually he let us out. Still no staff at front desk upon my return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank crawfishbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent one night (which was one night too many) at this hotel. We almost left as soon as we walked in but since we paid for reservations and were only there for 8 hours before our early flight, we stuck it out.

Old & creepy is the best way to describe this dimly lit, shady place. My kids were creeped out and begged us to go somewhere else. Our room was spartan at best and was filled with mosquitos. Ugh.

I am a world traveler and up for adventure but this isn't the kind of funky experience I enjoyed. The only advantage to this place was the proximity to the airport but that wouldn't be enough to ever make me go back.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you want a good room!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

After flying all night we were given a nice clean room at 7AM for the cost of our 1 night stay and offered a tasty Costa Rican breakfast too! The hotel is smaller but has a nice courtyard, pool and indoor/outdoor dining. Outside perimeter walls on the property, locked entrance gate and inside door access to the rooms made us feel very secure! Very close to airport and main highway. Easy pick up for tours/taxis. The staff was always helpful, even beyond the ordinary requests. That is what prompted me to write. These people are working very hard to make a well run, comfortable hotel. We'll stay again if we ever are lucky enought to get back to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: face the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good: The lady from the bar did actually bring us a drink by the pool, the taxi driver to the airport was on time and the a/c did work well.

Bad: The front desk tried to charge us more than the billboard outside by saying that it was an old sign, internet didn't work, the pool area is very small, no washclothes, old mattresses, burn hole in the bedspread, restaurant was closed, the shower knob was missing, there is no chain for the door, there was no breakfast/only coffee, no in-room coffee pot, there was no hangers and you could hear every noise from the hallway. And no one was ever at the front desk when you needed them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews