We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to coming back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. The hosts are more than gracious and bend over backwards for you, making your stay very relaxing and comfortable. They are also extremely knowledgeable about Costa Rica and their surrounding area, so they have great recommendations for meals and activities. The closer for us was the pick-up at the airport, immediately making us comfortable to an unknown and unexpected oasis. Did I mention the breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinisraelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Alegria Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2009

I've never written on Tripadvisor before, but George deserves a mention. He picked us up at the airport, offered refreshments, set us up with a cab in the wee hours of the morning, and recommended a good, inexpensive Mexican restaurant. He's a southern gentleman offering real southern hospitality

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I was picked up at the airport, and dropped off the next day, so I didn't have to worry about cab hastles. The place was big, clean, bright and the owner very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was hot, fresh, and filling. I was only in San Jose for the night, but didn't want to go to a busy hotel, this place was a very peaceful and pleasant start to my vacation. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here on our first day of our Costa Rica trip on August 17th 2009. I couldn't ask for a better place to start our trip. We booked all three rooms for two families. George even came to greet us at the airport! I highly recommend this place to any one looking for Home away from home. George and Doris are wonderful hosts. George even let me use his personal laptop to upload the photos when the PC didn't have a SD card slot. George hooked us up with a wonderful driver, Luis, who took us around Costa Rica for the whole week we stayed over there. Luis took us where ever we wanted to go and always made sure we are having a good time. Luis came to pick us up at the airport along with George. We couldn't have asked for a better person to show us Costa Rica! He became one of us during the trip. After we checked into Alegria, we planned the trip with Luis and headed out to Lapaaz waterfall gardens in the rain. The next morning breakfast prepared by Doris was exceptionally good. Luis drove us to Monteverde in his very comfortable van. We had a blast on the Selvatura zip lines. Zipping through the clouds on the last zipline was truly magical. We then headed to Arenal. On the way to the hotel, we stopped on the road side around 7 PM, to see the hot lava flowing down the Arenal volcano. Luis even woke us up around 4 AM for a wonderful show of Arenal's magic. We also spent a night in LaFortuna for horse back riding and Canyoning. We then headed to Miravales volcano. There were hardly any tourists over there. There is a power plant nearby generating electricity from this volcano's energy. It meets 12% of Costa Rica's energy needs it seems! The hotel we stayed there even had natural hot springs and sauna with hotwater from the volcano. At the volcano's crater (not at the top), you could see sulphur fumes, water and mud bubbling in the pools. We had the whole place pretty much to ourselves. We all had mud baths and had good time in the hot spring pools. This was the high light of our trip. We then headed to Playa Hermosa and stayed there for two nights. Three of us went on Snorkeling. We could see a String Ray, Octopus, Puffer fish, a fish with spikes all around, Eels and several colorful fish. On our last evening in Costa Rica, Luis took us to Flamingo beach via back roads. On the way there, we saw a beautiful sunset at the Monte Carlo beach! Our trip ended with Luis dropping us at Liberia airport. We couldn't have had this much fun if Luis wasn't around. He was not only our driver but he was also our translator and guide. Thanks to George for hooking us up with Luis. Even though it was rainy season, except for during horse riding at Monteverde, we really lucked out on the weather. Horse riding in the rain was fun too. This was certainly a vacation of our life time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsagiraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This is a perfect place to stay after a long haul flight or to gather yourself ahead of a flight. The hosts are very accommodating, knowledgeable of the area and do a very good breakfast.
Mike

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at Alegria on the first and last night of our first trip to Costa Rica. George and his family were very welcoming. The rooms and Alegria in general were great. Alegria is in a relatively quiet residential area in Alajuela. Alajuela is an okay city as far as things go but I find the real charm in Costa Rica to be in the less populated areas.

Overall I would say Alegria was a great value. George was even kind enough to pick us up from the airport and to drop us off when we left. The Alegria experience made it easier to get our trip started in a easy going, relaxed way.

I would definitely stay at Alegria again if needed. It is a great place to stay getting to and/or leaving Costa Rica. As I learned on my trip, sometimes a trip that seems like it should take 1-2 hours ends up taking 3-4 hours and you don't want to miss your flight home!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank user313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

When we first entered this house, my husband and I were met with the most genuine kindness we've ever experienced. We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica after receiving a complimentary pickup from the airport, and loved it so much that we also stayed at Alegria the night before leaving the country. We were welcomed like old friends and felt like we said goodbye to family.

The rooms are comfortable and lovingly maintained. The house itself is spacious and airy with superb architectural details and plenty of couches on which to relax. The grounds outside are lush and beautiful and you feel part of a real Tico neighborhood. A delicious and hearty American style breakfast is included, and George is happy to arrange travel and suggest itineraries for all guests. One word of advice: if you take a cab around Alajuela, be sure to bring along George's directions so your driver can find his way back (it's certainly not remote, but since it's a smaller B&B, many of our drivers didn't know of the place)!

We traveled to Costa Rica for our honeymoon but at George's house we felt the warm generosity of home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjreti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Residencial Alajuela, Pueblo Nuevo Apartado, Alajuela 1901-4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £37 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing