We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place for Airport Stay; quaint, cozy, personal service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Place for Airport Stay; quaint, cozy, personal service”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My wife and I stayed her on our last night in Costa Rica (boo!) and it was wonderful. The owner let us use the internet and skype and whatever we required to ensure we and the airline had our flight all sorted out. We had the opportunity to share travel stories with another pair of travelers before we retired to our cozy room. The breakfast was fantastic: homemade sausage, plentiful fruit, eggs, & homemade muffins. The price was unbelievably low for the personal service. We enjoyed sitting in el centro of Alajuela before our flight; much calmer than anywhere in San Jose, but still with a central american charm.

We were on an adventure vacation, so we enjoyed any and all adventures, but be aware if you get a taxi from San Jose, they may not know where they are going. This taxi driver, despite us having directions in spanish, his talking to every local on the way and the owner of the hotel twice on the phone, could not find it, until the owner came out of the BandB and flagged us down. It really is in a residential neighborhood, which adds to the charm but may make it more of a challenge to get to in a taxi. For us, this just added another story to our wonderful honeymoon tale.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibandygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
162
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
justinisraelson
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. The hosts are more than gracious and bend over backwards for you, making your stay very relaxing and comfortable. They are also extremely knowledgeable about Costa Rica and their surrounding area, so they have great recommendations for meals and activities. The closer for us was the pick-up at the airport, immediately making us comfortable to an unknown and unexpected oasis. Did I mention the breakfast!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinisraelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I've never written on Tripadvisor before, but George deserves a mention. He picked us up at the airport, offered refreshments, set us up with a cab in the wee hours of the morning, and recommended a good, inexpensive Mexican restaurant. He's a southern gentleman offering real southern hospitality

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I was picked up at the airport, and dropped off the next day, so I didn't have to worry about cab hastles. The place was big, clean, bright and the owner very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was hot, fresh, and filling. I was only in San Jose for the night, but didn't want to go to a busy hotel, this place was a very peaceful and pleasant start to my vacation. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here on our first day of our Costa Rica trip on August 17th 2009. I couldn't ask for a better place to start our trip. We booked all three rooms for two families. George even came to greet us at the airport! I highly recommend this place to any one looking for Home away from home. George and Doris are wonderful hosts. George even let me use his personal laptop to upload the photos when the PC didn't have a SD card slot. George hooked us up with a wonderful driver, Luis, who took us around Costa Rica for the whole week we stayed over there. Luis took us where ever we wanted to go and always made sure we are having a good time. Luis came to pick us up at the airport along with George. We couldn't have asked for a better person to show us Costa Rica! He became one of us during the trip. After we checked into Alegria, we planned the trip with Luis and headed out to Lapaaz waterfall gardens in the rain. The next morning breakfast prepared by Doris was exceptionally good. Luis drove us to Monteverde in his very comfortable van. We had a blast on the Selvatura zip lines. Zipping through the clouds on the last zipline was truly magical. We then headed to Arenal. On the way to the hotel, we stopped on the road side around 7 PM, to see the hot lava flowing down the Arenal volcano. Luis even woke us up around 4 AM for a wonderful show of Arenal's magic. We also spent a night in LaFortuna for horse back riding and Canyoning. We then headed to Miravales volcano. There were hardly any tourists over there. There is a power plant nearby generating electricity from this volcano's energy. It meets 12% of Costa Rica's energy needs it seems! The hotel we stayed there even had natural hot springs and sauna with hotwater from the volcano. At the volcano's crater (not at the top), you could see sulphur fumes, water and mud bubbling in the pools. We had the whole place pretty much to ourselves. We all had mud baths and had good time in the hot spring pools. This was the high light of our trip. We then headed to Playa Hermosa and stayed there for two nights. Three of us went on Snorkeling. We could see a String Ray, Octopus, Puffer fish, a fish with spikes all around, Eels and several colorful fish. On our last evening in Costa Rica, Luis took us to Flamingo beach via back roads. On the way there, we saw a beautiful sunset at the Monte Carlo beach! Our trip ended with Luis dropping us at Liberia airport. We couldn't have had this much fun if Luis wasn't around. He was not only our driver but he was also our translator and guide. Thanks to George for hooking us up with Luis. Even though it was rainy season, except for during horse riding at Monteverde, we really lucked out on the weather. Horse riding in the rain was fun too. This was certainly a vacation of our life time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsagiraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This is a perfect place to stay after a long haul flight or to gather yourself ahead of a flight. The hosts are very accommodating, knowledgeable of the area and do a very good breakfast.
Mike

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at Alegria on the first and last night of our first trip to Costa Rica. George and his family were very welcoming. The rooms and Alegria in general were great. Alegria is in a relatively quiet residential area in Alajuela. Alajuela is an okay city as far as things go but I find the real charm in Costa Rica to be in the less populated areas.

Overall I would say Alegria was a great value. George was even kind enough to pick us up from the airport and to drop us off when we left. The Alegria experience made it easier to get our trip started in a easy going, relaxed way.

I would definitely stay at Alegria again if needed. It is a great place to stay getting to and/or leaving Costa Rica. As I learned on my trip, sometimes a trip that seems like it should take 1-2 hours ends up taking 3-4 hours and you don't want to miss your flight home!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank user313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vida Tropical B and B
Vida Tropical B and B
#8 of 61 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 61 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 61 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#2 of 61 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria b&b
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing