We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vida Tropical B and B(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
234
27
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
27
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We have stayed at this B & B several times and have always had a wonderful time. This is one place that I do not hesitate to recommend and in my opinion the best place to start and/or end you visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

George and Doris were wonderful hosts, very relaxed and friendly. George was extremely helpful in both pick up and drop off to the airport which was a short drive away. Yummy and filling breakfasts too! The Alegria B&B gets a breeze on top of a hill, is very secure, very clean and both of us slept soundly on both nights we stayed here. We stayed either side of our holiday to be close to the airport. The rooms are private but you still feel very much at home. In fact, I think the hottest shower i had in Costa Rica was at Alegria (ie, not lukewarm!). I would thoroughly recommend a stay here even if being close to the airport wasn't a priority!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieNess_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We decided not to hotel hop while in Costa Rica. I'm glad we didn't. We spoke with one family who had been in 4 different hotels in 5 days. All that packing/unpacking, checking in/out wastes your time in this beautiful country. Instead, we decided to stay near the airport and take day trips. Alegria was the perfect base of operations. Alegria is often used as a starting or stopping point for a Costa Rica trip. We think that's a mistake.

It was an easy drive to many of the activities we wanted: Poas, La Paz, San Jose, zip lines, Jaco, etc. The room was beautiful. The breakfast were insane. George and Doris were helpful, gracious hosts. The rate was excellent for the value we received. We would love to go back and we'd be honored to be guests at Alegria again. Often, during our trip, I referred to Alegria as 'heading back home.' It really felt that way!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebock58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

George and Doris made our introduction to Costa Rica seamless and comfortable. Their hospitality is unsurpassed. Their home is inviting, rooms are exactly what you need and we slept wonderfully. The breakfast were amazing and were a great start to our day. I highly recommend starting or ending your trip to beautiful Costa Rica here.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank nyc2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My wife and I stayed her on our last night in Costa Rica (boo!) and it was wonderful. The owner let us use the internet and skype and whatever we required to ensure we and the airline had our flight all sorted out. We had the opportunity to share travel stories with another pair of travelers before we retired to our cozy room. The breakfast was fantastic: homemade sausage, plentiful fruit, eggs, & homemade muffins. The price was unbelievably low for the personal service. We enjoyed sitting in el centro of Alajuela before our flight; much calmer than anywhere in San Jose, but still with a central american charm.

We were on an adventure vacation, so we enjoyed any and all adventures, but be aware if you get a taxi from San Jose, they may not know where they are going. This taxi driver, despite us having directions in spanish, his talking to every local on the way and the owner of the hotel twice on the phone, could not find it, until the owner came out of the BandB and flagged us down. It really is in a residential neighborhood, which adds to the charm but may make it more of a challenge to get to in a taxi. For us, this just added another story to our wonderful honeymoon tale.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibandygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews