We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortez Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cortez Azul
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not clean!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The staff is very nice, interior of the hostel is decorated with various arts, very interesting. But very big of the hostel are bugs and clean. We were leaving with my girlfriend with many bits on hands and face. Not the best experience. Till when they don't sort the problem, not re- commanded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, Gerente at Hotel Cortez Azul, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
hello ,

we apologize for the inconvenience caused by bed bugs, only we want to tell you that we have already solved the problem and bought new mattresses and we hired a company specialized in this type of animal, I also tell you that the problem was in two of the rooms and not in the hotel, we apologize again and hope that no more people suffer for these animals, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    24
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
5
56
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived early in the morning and Rolando was very welcoming and helpful. We were going for a dorm which was $12 per person but he told us it was better to go for a double private room for $11 per person. It was a great idea plus we saved some money. There is breakfast every morning (fruits and cereals). It has a good location, close to bars and bus stops. The beds were alright — you can not ask for a lot when paying only $11.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiomarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was only staying in this hostel for less than 24 hours before flying out if San Jose airport. If I had been there longer I am afraid I would have asked to look at other rooms or gone somewhere else altogether. I arrived in the dark and did not get a good feeling from Alajuela as a whole (clearly not the hostels fault). I arrived at the hostel and there were no lights on in the corridor at all and I nearly tripped down the step to my room. The light in my room was not much better - one poor bulb and the room was kind of set down in the ground so there were only very small windows and they were high up. The room was very noisy as it was in the entrance area and there was a lot of drilling on the road outside (also obviously not the hostels fault) The guy on the desk did not really speak any english which is not too much of a problem as I have moderate spanish but he did not really give me any information in any language- i had to ask about where breakfast was and then work out for myself where everything was and the fact that it was self service. Breakfast was good though and the garden was lovely. There was no hot water in the bathroom which did not appear to be mentioned when I booked the room. This is not ideal as Alajuela was not that warm. Excellent proximity to the airport was the best feature of this hotel to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, Gerente at Hotel Cortez Azul, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
hello , we wait you stay good,
i want to tell you that now we have a new recepcionist and he speaks english , about the water is because maybe you didn't know how to work because is a old system and if you open a lot the water is goint to be cold , you must open little , best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in late in this hostel and so the receptionist gave us a better price for a private room. It's a very beautiful pace with a nice atmosphere, beautiful outside area and garden, very friendly and helpful stuff, nice balcony etc.
we immediately liked the place a lot.

Unfortunately we realised after maybe 1-2h that the bed in our room had a lot of bedbugs. I lay down for an hour before we saw them. It was very obvious, blood stains and even no problems seeing them, as there were so many. Even in this short time, I got bitten a lot and my whole body is covered in very itchy stains. All i wanted was to leave and never go back.

The guy working there at that time was very helpful and friendly. He called his boss who was not so friendly. He tried to talk himself out, telling us that we brought the bedbugs in, which is ridiculous. After all, the receptionist was much nicer, gave us our money back and apologised.

Maybe the other beds don't have bugs. Check your bed if you go there, because the place is really nice, but sharing the bed with bugs and being covered in stains is just not worth it at all!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, Gerente at Hotel Cortez Azul, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
hello,

we apologize for the inconvenience caused by bed bugs, only we want to tell you that we have already solved the problem and bought new mattresses and we hired a company specialized in this type of animal, I also tell you that the problem was in two of the rooms and not in the hotel, we apologize again and hope that no more people suffer for these animals, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I am not sure this place was designed to be a hostel. The room we stayed in had no window, seemed like a makeshift room. It was so hot in the room (no fan) that we had to keep our door open at night. The front is a locked gate (but no wall) and back is entirely open so breeze came in from outside but didn't make it to our room if door was closed. Breakfast was pineapple, papaya, toast, coffee, corn flakes and milk. (if you don't get to breakfast early though the fruit runs out). Shower had only cold water when I used it (which is fine in really hot places but it was mild in Alajuela). I had to ask for them to bring up more toilet paper. Positives - they had some cool mosaic decorations and backyard had a beautiful garden you could hang out in. Convenient location nearby airport and bus station to go to Poas Volcano. Young guy working there was very chill, spoke a lot of English (although broken) but would for some reason refused to reply to me in Spanish (I am American but understand Spanish perfectly)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window!! I actually asked to switch rooms to second floor when first shown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, Gerente at Hotel Cortez Azul, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
hello , we feel so bad about your comment, but you have the rigth , this build was a old house is not a hotstel constructution , about the guy we goint to serch about this because we always try to help and make people feel like home but sorryabout this to, about your spanish i dont understand because if you talk in spanish we response in spanish, i really didn't know what hapened , we hope you be good in home, best regrds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

The place is clean. The rooms were nice. It has a hostel feel to it, especially the garden and kitchen. Breakfast is good, but you have to get there early or it is gone. The main problem is that the room we had had several openings to the hall that were just covered by netting. This meant that we literally didn't sleep. Our room was close to the reception and either people were talking or the television was on. If you do decide to go here I would suggest getting a room far, far away from any of the ground floor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LavenderLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Positives: nice, clean, private room. Shared bathrooms were clean too. Very friendly staff who spoke very good English.

Negatives: water was not hot, there were ants in the cereal and woken around 6 as the noise from the outside traffic was so loud.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embrace201183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#23 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.2 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez Azul

Property: Hotel Cortez Azul
Address: Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortez Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To fly in and out of Costa Rica for convenience may need to stay near an airport and the Juan Santamaria in Alajuela. The hotel is conveniently located Cortez Azul near the most important airport in Costa Rica. Alajuela is located only 2 km away and about 5 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cortez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Azul Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Cortez Azul Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing