We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #36 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Stopover”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed one night in a room with two single beds that had a shared bathroom next door. The inn was clean, and the (small) staff was friendly and helpful. The beds didn't look comfortable, but it turns out I had no problem.The room included a TV and a fan, but no air conditioning, so keep that in mind if you're sensative to heat. The bathroom didn't have hot water, but WARM water, which was perfect because it was hot out anyways. I visited during the rainy season and 75 is probably the coldest it gets! Breakfast in the morning was impeccable with eggs, toast, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. I have given this an average rating because of the above reasons, thing was super-impressive. The faciltity seems a little old and the street was noisy at night even though my room faced a courtyard, however, I would stay here again. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    23
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
36
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very handy for the airport ($5 or less in taxi, also reachable by bus). Nice comfortable rooms, friendly welcome on reception, use of well equipped kitchen, pleasant reception room, breakfast included (eggs, fresh fruit, coffee), safe area to walk around in the evening with shops and places to eat nearby. If you have time to kill, visit the museum with its exhibition about the 1850s/60s revolution, it explains about Juan Santamaria whose statue is directly opposite the hotel.
Note to owner: I stayed in 2 different rooms, in one the shower worked perfectly, in the other it was cold water only, shower definitely in need of attention before the plaster on the wall crumbles away.completely!

Room Tip: Monteverde twin room with private bathroom - comfortable mattresses and fully working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Cala Inn is a nice hotel for a short stay, either when you arrive at San Jose Airport or flying out early in the morning. It is only 5 minutes away from the airport. It is very clean! The personnel is very helpful. If you need a taxi to go to the airport they will arrange that for you. HOWEVER, watch out the prices!! They'll tell you its 3.000 Colones/6 Dollar to the airport and I had to pay that when they called a taxi for me! But I arrived with a "normal" taxi from the airport, driving with taximeter and it was only 1.600 Colones/approx. 3 Dollars. So I would suggest to go to the street and wait for a normal one!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed here the first night we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before we flew our. Easily accessible from the airport ( $5 cab ride) and from central San Jose ( ~$1 for the pubic bus which runs frequently, or ~$20 by cab...which we took after arriving in San Jose late at night). Found the staff very helpful and friendly, the rooms were simple but comfortable and spacious. Free internet and breakfast in the morning. The morning we left early, they had no trouble with us preparing our own breakfast before our departure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missinindia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hostel was pretty clean and well kept; a nice communal kitchen for example and a little lounge area with tv and balcony and pretty fast internet on the pc's in the hallway (free). Not supercheap but we stayed here for one night only so it was okay. We saw lots of people in the square, but mostly children, nothing threatening. off course walkin there in the middle of the night could be risky, just as in about any urban area in CR though i never felt uncomfortable
only 5 min to the airport from here
good place to stay on your first or last night in CR

only bad thing was the condom i think it doesnt happen regularly, for the rest it was very clean :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rens8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I was staying at hotel Cala Inn before meeting up with a group I was leading (part of the Caribbean Experience I direct (http://www.costaribbean.com) , and Mario and his partner made sure I felt at home: Clean rooms, a nice lounge, and the staff was informative about letting me know about where to go to eat around Alajuela- a charming town. Breakfast was great, and the price is affordable! It is located in a central place, 2 blocks from the central plaza. The owner also helped me get a driver to take me and my friend to Volcan Poas.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to CR which began and ended with a pleasant stay at Cala Inn. Their rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds. The staff is outstanding at making one feel welcome. Your morning breakfast is freshly prepared while you wait, drinking delicious Costa Rican coffee. They are helpful with tours, phone calls, taxis, and finding a good restaurant. Kudos for Cala Inn!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selma1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
3.6 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortez Azul
Hotel Cortez Azul
#4 of 41 in Alajuela
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: west side of the Juan Santamaria Park, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast is ideally located in Alajuela, Costa Rica. It is 2 miles from the country's main airport Juan Santamaría (SJO) and 15 minutes from the capital, San José. It is the logical starting point to visit the country's many beautiful beaches and national parks. It is simply the perfect base of operations for enjoying all that Costa Rica has to offer.If you are interested in Costa Rica's natural wonders: it's volcanoes, amazing waterfalls, beautiful pristine beaches, green luscious mountains, fantastic national parks with their unique and incredibly diversified flora and fauna, etc. If you are coming to party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing