We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent starting point for our Costa Rica tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Linda Montana
Ranked #2 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent starting point for our Costa Rica tour”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for two nights at Vista Linda Montana as a starting point to our Costa-Rica tour. The B&B organized for us transportation from the airport - it took about 20 min. The room we got (first floor) was spacious and clean, including a safe box. The WiFi coverage was better in the public areas than in the room. Breakfast was very good and was served in a patio overlooking a fantastic view, including a large garden. In one of the nights we ordered a dinner ($12), which was very good. The couple who owed the house do not speak english. Therefore, we must thank Adriana, who helps the couple to run the B&B, for addressing all our inquires throughout our stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoav_Rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    62
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
157
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful with very nice view, flowers, have hammock, some animals in cage. Rooms are nice, have ventilator, but no air conditioner, nice bathroom. Breakfast is ok: bread with one piece of butter and cheese, fruits one small piece of each: watermelon, banana, pineapple, coffee. When we were ready to pay, the credit card machine doesn't work, need to pay cash.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for two days at the end of 10 days wonderful days in Costa Rica. Although we got in quite late, around 7:00 p.m. we were still able to get some dinner. It is a safe property, quiet, nice dinner ($12), with wine and beer being available. For breakfast we asked if we could get fried eggs as well and that was no problem ($3 extra). On Saturday we drove up to Poas Volcano and then on to the La Paz Waterfalls and Nature Reserve. Both are a must see while in Costa Rica. Our room had a wonderful view of Poas to the North and of San Jose to the East. Having stayed in and around San Jose several times in the past I am most happy to have found Vista Linda Montana. It is a short drive (30 min max) to the airport or the rental car drop off site. We will be back.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view. There are no bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on our arrival to Costa Rica and for a couple of days before we left. The rooms are large and clean, the view is breathtaking, and the grounds pretty, secure, and peaceful. The hosts go out of their way to help you (they found us a rental car and did a 5 AM drop-off at the airport) and their friendliness is genuine - our baby son misses their attentions! Recommend this place to anyone - great jump off point outside of the bustle of San Jose but not far from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genoajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although a bit out of town, it's such a beautiful location that the taxi ride is worth it. In a peaceful rural suburb of a rather frantic city, this is restful, attractive - and you can have your evening meal there too (great at the end of a busy day). We were even driven to the airport at 6am by our hostess. The rooms were spacious and the balcony made the place just like a small hotel. Great value and I can't belive you'd find anywhere better..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel was extremely pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful. Do NOT use the rental car company the hotel recommends, CR-Save Rent A Car. We had a very bad experience which involved the agency representative.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at this B&B the night I arrived in Costa Rica. It's conveniently close to the airport, and with an arrival time of 11:00pm, all I was wishing for was a comfortable bed and a good night's rest. The hosts were very welcoming and gracious. I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted with much more than bedroom basics - the B&B is enclosed by lush flowers and garden bed, and the space is well equipped with a wide assortment of outdoor furniture to soak up the surroundings. Good complimentary breakfast and great patio. Free wifi, with signal strongest in the common areas and dwindling away as you reach the further accommodations.

Although I was there for only a short period of time, I would have been glad to stay here for a couple more days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Property: Vista Linda Montana
Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Linda Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing