We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in alajuela!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel el Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel el Tucan
Ranked #47 of 59 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place to stay in alajuela!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed at this place for two nights on my recent trip to costa rica. Rooms are cheap with hot water, spacious, cable, ac and a mini fridge. the people who work there are so accommodating - we asked them to do our laundry and they did and didnt even charge us! They were so kind. the location is central and convenient to shopping, the market and museums. i recommend staying here for price, location and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

I have been at Hotel el Tucan for a week. The owner took over management again only two weeks ago. The hotel is not fancy but the management is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4578sst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We visited this hotel because of web reviews. We discovered the management changed. And then the customers. Instead of foreigners, you now can find noisy locals. Manager is just customer friendly. Rooms are basic for the price... But COLD !!!! If you don't need any view and don't care with the cooking smell : idea was to propose a small kitchen. First floor room take "advantage" from this new noisy kitchen.
And to be clear, the breakfast was the most auwful we had : 10 slices of old bananas, 1 cold toast with ? marmelade, cup of coffee. Over.
Last but not least, the change we get at the desk was the worst ever. I assume the clerk was interested.
Bye.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omfts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

We arrived, late at night, looking for a place to stay. We drove by the hotel and they stopped us and asked if we needed a room. The room was nice, equipped with a tv, privat bathroom, refrigerator and AC! The people are very nice and helped us out with everything, they even helped us out to buy a car. The hotel is located very close to the international airport and if you have a rental car, you can drop it off very close to the hotel.

Also there is a little store, where you can buy appliances, like cigarettes, drinks and food! They also rent out scooters and a car, so you can visit the vulcano and other sightseeings around there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElMerlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Had a great time in Costa Rica Thanks to Luis the owner. When we arrived to the airport in San jose they payed for our taxi when we got to the hotel. We settled in and Luis helped us with some travel tips and he was right we had a great time. So we used him for an exit hotel also. Would for sure go there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank big9t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We arrived to the hotel reveiwed our plane times with them. Off to a clean room with a small refrig for beer...... watched a movie on tv slept great and after a wake up knock. Free Coffee and fruit, toast. Then they drove us without worry to the airport 5 minutes away. Travel the way it should be.stressless.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#23 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#24 of 59 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez Azul
Hotel Cortez Azul
#16 of 39 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#2 of 59 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Tucan

Property: Hotel el Tucan
Address: Metros Norte 200, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel el Tucan 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tucan Hotel, located in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Just 10 minutes away from Juan Santamar?a?s International Airport. It?s a welcoming family hotel, a perfect place to spend the first and the last night in Costa Rica in a quiet and friendly area to enjoy your vacations in Costa Rica with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel el Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing