We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argentine Restaurant in Costa Rica”

Como en Casa Parrilla Tica Argentina
Ranked #47 of 191 Restaurants in Alajuela
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Argentinian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Prince George, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Argentine Restaurant in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First, Yerlin is a fantastic waiter. The food was good, priced moderately. The restaurant was casual and relaxing. Enjoyed the meal, as did the family. Definitely worth a visit in you're in Alajuela.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Argentinian food too good to pass”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is the the third time I've eaten at this wonderful place and I've never been disappointed! We've had empanadas, blood sausage and mushroom soup appetizers, all fantastic! Our meals were various steak cuts--my daughter raved about the rump steak--and the pork rib. Never disappointed!! Too full to have dessert so can't review that. Fantastic Chilean and Argentinian wine selections. The service is above and beyond what should be expected. Will eat here every time we are in San Jose/Alajuela.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
“Great food, albeit a little pricey”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This Argentinian restaurant is, in my opinion, one of the very few high points (for dining, at least) in downtown Alajuela. I have lived there most of my life, and this is usually the first place that comes to mind when I want to have a moderately fancy dinner without driving too far. Service is prompt and courteous, although not terribly familiar with the dishes or how they're prepared. Food is varied enough, with the main focus being meat (beef) and pasta. Some seafood dishes and salads, along with Argentinian appetizers and desserts round up the menu. Food quality has always been excellent. The only two minor complaints I have are the prices and the atmosphere. It's not incredibly expensive, and I'd say both the quality and quantity of the food match the price, but just barely; and it's definitely on the pricey side. It can also be hard to justify the price on a slow night, when the place has almost no ambiance, except for very low volume music playing in the background. Still, for a nice, semi-formal dinner with family, business partners or a significant other, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little Argentinian flavour”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We enjoyed a nice chilean wine with some great beef fajitas. The service and atmosphere were great. It was a nice place to have a quiet dinner however we did feel the prices were a bit steep.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“so - so”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

It came highly recommended, we expected a nice dinner Restaurant, it was essentially a side-walk Cafe with inside tables. Service was prompt if unsophisticated, food was 0k. Wine by the Glass only had one choice (House wine)
Considering the whole package, the Restaurant does not deserve the level of build up it gets and is overprized, the same meal at a Longhorn in Miami would have cost $ 75.00 instead of $ 100+ and there was no ambiance!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank flufdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Como en Casa Parrilla Tica Argentina also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Como en Casa Parrilla Tica Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing