We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the airport”
Review of Berlor Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlor Airport Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good hotel close to the airport”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've stayed in Hotel Berlor twice, when I arrived in Costa Rica and before I left the country 3,5 weeks later. I had two very pleasant stays there! Very nice & helpful staff! The pasta was delicious :-) It's a good choice for a stay before departure or after arrival and I would choose it anytime again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    75
    36
    26
    26
See reviews for
37
96
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rifle, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I always stay at the hotel Berlor when I am flying in or out of San Jose; the hotel is cute, quaint and clean, and the staff is very very accommodating and friendly. In comparison to the surrounding hotels, Hotel Berlor is very affordable offering rooms from $50-$80. Not to mention, the free shuttle ride to the airport, which is only a couple miles away, not having to allot for a long travel time to the airport. The bedrooms are spacious, with a/c, wifi and cable. Although the neighborhood isn't very appealing, Hotel Berlor makes up for it with it's pool and outside area for reading and hanging out.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the lobby have wifi...the rooms across the way from the pool, away from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

No hot water for a $70 room? Food was ok - although pizza and Calzone looked great. Funky math to make the bill: convert food to dollars at favorable to the hotel rate, then paid part dollar and part colones for the bill, and converted the colones at favorable to the hotel rate for the remainder of the bill ... Tricky. Change dollars to colones at the supermarket, where they're not trying to get you at every turn

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Get_Out_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlorair, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Airport Hotel Berlor .
Your Opinion is very important for us,
We working apllying the current exchange regarding the National Bank of Costa Rica (BN)
and our menu is showed in local money (colones), however if you didn't agree about the exchange at the time you paid your bill, we kindly could explain you, if you had any doubt about it
We also thank you for mention the pizza restaurant as good option and we have modified the prices including taxes in order to avoid any complaint or confusion.
Also we have hot water in the hotel and I check the boiler often in order to guarantee the hot water is working, anyway if you had problem with the hot water we could fix it up inmmediatly, however you didn´t mention you had problem with the hot water.

Thank you very much for your opinion, and we will work harder in order to improve our service.


Kind Regards
Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room is dingy and dreary looking with a window looking into the kitchen. We saw some mosquitoes in the bathroom and quickly shut the door so they wouldn't get out. That didn't work and I spent the night with the sheet over my head. I still got bit up and my lip was swollen along with my nose from bites. It was a miserable night. They also forgot our wake up call, but the bugs got me up at 330 am . Spend the extra money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naflick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlorair, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your opinion about Airport Hotel Berlor,
we consider the reviews of all our customer, however, after I read this review I was checking around the hotel but I didn´t find any signal of mosquitoes, what was really cusrious for me considering that it´s summer, and is hard to find mosquitoes on the dry season, speacially in the city or in a room that has to be cleaned everyday, because the high ocupation of our hotel, OUr reception is open 24/7, and if you had a problem, we are open all nigth long so you could report any issue, however you didn´t memtion it. you mentioned the window looking into the kitchen but you never mentioned the mosquito net in that window, that was installed with the intetion to avoid bugs or mosquitos in the room,

Thank you so much for your opinion and we will make sure avoid similar complaint like these.


KInd Regards

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just want to thank you all the satff (Lester, Sylvia, Sarai, Victoria, Jeremy, Aremis) at Berlor Hotel, friendly, corteous and professional. Close to the airport. Good food. Pizza is good. Confortable rooms, like the pool and the safety of the neighborhood. It is a good hotel for overnite and/or short stay before departure or after arrival. See you folks sometime soon.

Room Tip: The double rooms close to the pool are newer and spacy,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecotraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlorair, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Mrs.

Thank you for your opinion, words like yours encourage our staff to improve our service and make better job and provide a good servcice we thank you for staying with us and make enjoy our work with your presence, We hope to see you again next year.

KInd regards

Lester Luquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a little oasis in a big city. If you want luxury, this hotel is not for you, but everyone else will be pleased. We stayed here after we landed in the airport. They arranged transportation to the apartment that we had rented at the beach. Near the end of our trip we arranged our own trip to the rainforest, where nothing worked out. I called Hotel Berlor and they had rooms available for us and sent an English-speaking driver for us. We spent the last five days of our extended stay in Costa Rica at Hotel Berlor, where the entire staff treated us like we were family. With the nicely landscaped courtyard and pool area, we still felt like we were on vacation. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywintertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlorair, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Happywintertraveller
Thank for you helpful review,
your opinion is very important for us, it´s encourage us to improve our service and make feel good our guest at the hotel,
Remember that you and your family are always welcome here.

Kind Regards!

Lester Luquez Cano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After we arrived at the airport and got our car from Adobe, airport hotel Berlor was conveniently situated (it is right next to Adobe). As overall experience I think the hotel is quite expensive. Probably, they heavily rely on their status and name as "airport hotel", giving them a reliable flow of customers. Some remarks: the bed was okay, and so was the breakfast (having a choice between gallo pinto and continental). I also think the personnel was friendly. We didn't enjoy the swimming pool, due to a lack of time. The hotel also includes a pizzeria, which serves quite good pizza's (for American standards).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#8 of 26 in Alajuela
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
5.3 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
662 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlor Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlor Airport Inn

Property: Berlor Airport Inn
Address: East From Juan Santamaria 2 km | International Airport, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica (Formerly Airport Hotel Berlor)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlor Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berlor Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlor Airport Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing