We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Ranked #42 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

In all fairness we didn't stay. We arrived at the hotel late at night. I have been in some rough areas before but this looked bad. When we pulled up it was on some dark side street with no lights at all. It was steel bars and steel mesh grating with what looked like somebody spray painted hotel over top. I looked at the cab driver and said keep moving. I was not comfortable at all.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank office1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
19
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Johnny, the owner, is super chill and laid back and a great host at El Cacique. It's a small hostel-style hotel, but perfect for the after/before airport visit. I felt safer here than I did at the second hotel we stayed at in Alajuela (we did El Cacique arriving and Alajuela Backpackers departing). We wished we'd stayed at El Cacique instead. Johnny was super helpful and gave us great advice. It can be a little noisy since you're super close to the airport, so if you're a light sleeper you may want ear plugs--that and the birds get very excited about morning. But if you're trying to keep your trip economical, I think you'll be pleased.

Room Tip: Book one with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Uva
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Perfect for me, and my family...What do you want when you have a stayover in San Jose for a flight? Clean, safe, affordable place, and easy to get to and from the airport... why share a bathroom or pay close or more than 4100 for what you need....Well, El Cacique is all of those, plus John is very helpful and will go out of his way to meet your needs, plus he is a certified guide in Costa Rica...The bathrooms are perfectly clean and new, the TV as well, and the internet was fast and easy to use from my room. My wife and kids have stayed here without me as well and we just love John and his hotel and know that other people we've met here and at the hotel feel the same way. Just booked a room for my wife who is travelling alone and needs an airport hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biriba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Very nice and respectable family run business. Safe and secure, comfortable and clean...Although it's very close to the airport I slept like a baby with my fan on, the planes stop running at night anyway. There was also a computer available with internet.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#15 of 29 in Alajuela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Airport Lodge

Property: Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Address: Peaje Alajuela, 1, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable lodge to the Costa Rica Int. Airport! Locally known as El Cacique Lodge, Since 2004 we have been known for our great location, clean cozy rooms with private bathroom, (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars offices, domestic flights, shuttle & tour buses, banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Airport Lodge Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing