We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Ranked #41 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stay!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We found Hotel El Cacique 7 years ago when we needed a place close to the airport for an early morning departure. John made sure we were comfortable, headed us in the right directions for something to eat and gave us a coffee before sending us in a cab to the airport at 5 am!! Since then we have stayed there multiple times, taken family and friends there and sent clients from our business to John and everyone has always been more than satisfied!! Nice to know we can depend on John and Hotel El Cacique for a good night sleep after just arriving in Costa Rica or just getting ready to leave Costa Rica after a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinthegoodlife2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
19
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay in San Jose. John was fantastic - he collected me from the airport late at night, gave me plenty of information, was really friendly and made sure that I made it to my flight the next day. The rooms are clean, the wi-fi works well and you get a good night's sleep. A short walk from car rental agencies, restaurants and overlooks a park. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

What an amazing spot! Great view of the valley and mountains! Convient to the airport! Highly recommend staying at hotel cacique! The owner is very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhaun82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good spot if you arrive at the airport (San Jose) and want to crash somewhere close, or a good spot to stay the night before leaving.
Just a short walk from the car rental agencies that serve the airport, too.
Has wireless, which is always convenient.
A little hard to find, but not so bad if you contact Johnny and get specific directions.
Enjoy your stay!
Dan

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After being bounced around by the car rental agency and wondering what I had got myself into, I was told of Hotel el Cacique. I was was welcomed there as a long time friend and treated by the family as a guest they had been waiting to arrive. They gave me the comfort I needed and a place to relax for what went from a one night visit to four nights. The helped me by taking me to the bus stations or directing to what I had to do to get around in Costa Rica. I returned to pick-up a friend after 10 days and left things to be protected on my next 2 weeks wondering around. Being only a 10 minute walk from the airport was a Great convinece. Having someone give me advice before I wondered off was very helpful to my 30 day stay, wondering aimlessly.

Room Tip: I liked both down stairs and upstairs, possibly down stairs was a litlle quieter,, but to me it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnylanecabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Close to the airport - so I easily made my 6:00 AM flight. Johnny was a great host, and speaks English like a US citizen - because he spent a few years in North Carolina as a teenager. He also acted as guide the night before my flight and showed me around the city... and I was so glad I wasn't driving! I would recommend this for anyone on their way to/from the SanJose Airport. And the WiFi worked fine, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is the ideal spot if your looking for a place to stay after you land in san jose, when your leaving or if you are intending to stay and visit the capital. It is 2 minutes from the airport so when my husband and i land we just walk over. It is located right by the city park and within walking distance from restaurants, a night club, casino and convenient stores. Join the family! Maria, Jose, John and Ringo (their beautiful dog) are extremely hospitable and just cool to chill with. If your looking for a friendly AND CLEAN environment this is the place. If you need a favor, for a very fair price they will help you out if available. Plus they have water beer and breakfast, what more would you need?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidcheslehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel II Millenium
Hotel II Millenium
#15 of 58 in Alajuela
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Airport Lodge

Property: Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Address: Peaje Alajuela, 1, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable lodge to the Costa Rica Int. Airport! Locally known as El Cacique Lodge, Since 2004 we have been known for our great location, clean cozy rooms with private bathroom, (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars offices, domestic flights, shuttle & tour buses, banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Airport Lodge Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing