We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like coming home for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Ranked #34 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Porter, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's like coming home for us.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have stayed at el Cacique many times now. It's a short taxi ride from the airport and Johnny has been very accommodating on all out visits. It's clean, comfortable, affordable, and secure. Johnny can give you good travel advice and his family makes is feel at home. We will definitely return there on all our trips to Costa Rica for the Pura Vida vibes!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiecyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyHotelElCacique, Owner at Costa Rica Airport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for staying at my place through the past few years! You guys have been extremely kind & generous to a point where you are considered more than just another guest!

-Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
19
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at El Cacique the night we arrived in CR, and the night before we left. It's literally about 3 minutes drive to the international airport and very cheap by Costa Rica standards so perfect for a short overnight stay.

John is really friendly and made us a great breakfast both mornings. The rooms are fine for an overnight stay as well, and there is a little grassed area outside which is nice to sit in after a long flight.

There is noise from the road outside and the planes close by, but this is to be expected being so close to the airport.

Overall, a great little B&B for a short stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

It was great to stay with John, his parents and Ringo, his super tranquile dog,all of them perfect examples of costa rican 'ticos', so nice and helpful and their house, the hotel, very clean, spacious and conveniently super close to airport, with unbeatable prices. Arriving or leaving Costa Rica, highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEREZA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

At the beginning, as soon as i arived at this place i thought twice to my self if i should stay here. It's located on the small street, in one of the neighbourhoods right across from the hotel. Typical Costa Rican neighbourhood where everything is covered with the gates and cages on the window and doors. Really scary looking place. However, i've read the reviews the night prior to arriving to this place, so basically i was going here following only good reviews from the people stayed at this place.
What i needed is a cheap accomodation for one night. I had a rental car and i didnt want to bother with other hotels located away from the airport, due to the traffic. I needed to be in the airport in the morning.
All other hotels which was right across fromt he airport was pushing over $100 a night. This place get me a roomo for...$20. Single occupancy, had tv, fan ( no air conditioner, but its San Jose so it get windy during the night ) Private showers, bathroom. Pretty much everything you need for a night before your departure.
It's a two stories building, all the rooms located on the second floor, first floor is where the kitchen is, room with the tv and the parking. Yes, the parking included in the price. Ask the owner, he will open the gates for you to drive in your vehicle.
Located outside of this place is a few local fast food places, convenience store. Little walk and you will be at the Holiday iNN Airport Express and Hampton Inn, with the casino across from it. All car rental agencies located within walking distance.
It's a definately good go for a night before your departure.

Room Tip: Just trust this place despite, don't judge the book by it's cover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guamokolatoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

First off, John was a great host. The place was clean, the back patio lovely, the breakfast tasty. And it IS close to the airport -- you can even walk there if you don't mind crossing the highway! We stayed here our first night in country on the advise of an acquaintance. The mattress was a little worn, and the city noise quite close, but we managed a decent night's sleep. We decided to stay someplace else on our way out, mostly because of the neighborhood. There just wasn't a good place to take a long walk! If you don't mind being right next to the highway, surrounded by alleys and fairly busy streets, this is a fine location. There is a biggish park right across from El Cacique and the view of the mountains is indeed superb, as mentioned in other reviews. However, for our outward bound night in Aleajuela, we ended up finding a similar situation (clean, inexpensive, close to the airport) in a suburban neighborhood, which suited us a little better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Awesome experience!
The hotel is located close to San Jose airport, the breakfast was great as well as the price. All was good. The owner tries to accomodate your every request so I had my habitual fried eggs for breakfast. I wish every hotel owner were this friendly!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moscow_Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay near the airport and want to save money, particularly at the end of your trip, this is a great place. It is simple, clean, has wifi, tv, a hot shower and is only $20 and a $3 taxi ride to the airport. When arriving at night it is a little hard to find and the entrance is at the back off the main road, but not to worry, it is safe. John is also a relaxed, friendly host who will wake up at any hour of the night to accept guests.

Do not expect a room at the hilton, if you do then the holiday inn up the road may be more for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#15 of 29 in Alajuela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Airport Lodge

Property: Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Address: Peaje Alajuela, 1, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable lodge to the Costa Rica Int. Airport! Locally known as El Cacique Lodge, Since 2004 we have been known for our great location, clean cozy rooms with private bathroom, (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars offices, domestic flights, shuttle & tour buses, banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Airport Lodge Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing