We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, close to the San Jose airport and reasonable rates”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Ranked #34 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Puerto Caldera, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, close to the San Jose airport and reasonable rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stay at the El Cacique several times a year when I travel in and out of San Jose. If I don't have a lot of luggage I can walk there in 10 minutes from the airport, otherwise a taxi is about $3-5.
John is the owner/manager and speaks excellent English and his parents help out as well. Very relaxed, clean, has wifi, all rooms have private bath, several good restaurants around the block. You can stay at the Holiday Inn nearby for 3-5 X as much, but I like the mellow atmosphere as well as supporting this small local family business. There is some airport noise during the day and early evening, but there are no late night flights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickvolando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
19
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place is so close to the airport, that you can literally sometimest watch the runway and planes to get up. But the airport is not so busy, so you can have a nice sleep.
It's probably the best place to stay if you arrive late at night to San José or if your flight leaves early in the morning. Taxi costs 3$ and takes like 4 minutes from Airport to El Cacique.
Johnny is a good host, speaks very good English and is really friendly - we had nice chat with him.
Room was clean with private bathroom and the breakfast with traditionally-prepared cofee, fruits and toast so delicios§

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatkaSamkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night we arrived in Costa Rica, the room was clean and the host Johnny is really friendly and helpful, the place is real Costa Rica life, so cool!! We loved it, the coffee was awesome, and Johnny even helped us find a rent a car calling himself, with no extra charge! We recommend it!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Johnny's place is an excellent option for arrival and departure days at the San Jose airport, SJO. His place is simple, spotless, safe and literally within walking distance of the airport though I highly recommend spending $4 on a cab that Johnny can arrange for you. Johnny's English is excellent if you prefer to communicate in English. We did not park a car there, but there is secure parking available at his place. His place is more typical of a Costa Rican home and less like a North American hotel. If you are timid traveler and are not prepared to immerse yourself in the country that you are visiting then you might be better off paying more for the American brand hotels in the area. You would miss out on meeting a very friendly Tico with great local knowledge and having a more authentic Costa Rican travel experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The "Hotel El Cacique" offers clean rooms, close to the airport. You can walk to and from the airport, but you have to cross two bigger streets (for the adventurous once) or take a taxi 4-5$. For 30 dollars a night you can get much more in Costa Rica! It is quite loud because of the traffic, and everything is vibrating when an airplane starts). The neighborhood is not nice, a lot of trash on the streets, and a park next to the highway.
All in all it is for people who are waiting for their flight home and who don't mind about the money. It is just for sleeping, don't forget your earplugs! Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyHotelElCacique, Owner at Costa Rica Airport Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Among Holiday inn express, the Hampton inn & the Marriot (by the way all these cost over a hundred USD) , the ONLY affordable choice in the airport area is my home, hotel el Cacique!
It is a very small airport, planes & traffic do not go all night, rest is guaranteed!
What you should've done was sit on my deck & enjoy the mountain view with a cold drink while
listening to some really good tunes! Thanks for staying at my humble place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

If you have a quick layover or stop in the san jose area, stay here. You are within walking distance of the airport (4 dollar taxi ride) and would spend less in total (one night and taxi) than you would riding a taxi into the San Jose. The rooms are comfortable and clean and there are places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotaAye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very near from the airport ,In a safe naiberhood notting like san jose, The place is not new but its very clean and cozy. Amazing dog! Johny the owner was very kind and was happy to help us with our trip. Had nice talk on the balcony enjoying the ''imperial'' and a shot of cacique =)

We did not esitate to come back at the end of our stay in costa-rica and to reccomend it to all our friends. We heard some horor storys of people trying to find there hotel in san-jose after taking a bus from the airport...

Overall I highly reccomended the place!

Pura vida =)

Room Tip: there is a quieter room in the back but there few bucks more, the dorms are cheaper and the chances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean-francois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyHotelElCacique, Owner at Costa Rica Airport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks a lot for the possitive feedback!...That was a pretty nice funny evening!..I´m really glad you & your girlfriend enjoyed staying at my place!

-Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#15 of 29 in Alajuela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Airport Lodge

Property: Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Address: Peaje Alajuela, 1, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable lodge to the Costa Rica Int. Airport! Locally known as El Cacique Lodge, Since 2004 we have been known for our great location, clean cozy rooms with private bathroom, (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars offices, domestic flights, shuttle & tour buses, banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Airport Lodge Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing