We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to the airport”
Review of Hotel Casa Tago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tago
Ranked #11 of 62 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My family stayed here the first and last nights of our two week trip in Costa Rica. It was a nice place to stay before and after long travel days. The breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and provided assistance with restaurants and taxis when requested. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very nice and cozy, clean and tidy ! Well taken care of :) Enjoyed our stay very much ! Just make sure you get a room with a window.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Costa Rica and stayed at Casa Tago. Stayed 6 nights and was never at a loss on what to do. Casa Tago puts you right near downtown Alejuela near everything you could possibly need. Very clean rooms, homemade breakfast every morning, staff speaks good English, were very helpful on different places to tour and arranging those tours for us. Excellent place to stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed for 3 days at end of April at this clean, convenient, reasonably-priced, downtown Alajuela Hotel after a 10 day tour; had a chance to unwind, and see more of the real Costa Rica than can see on a tour. Constanza was very helpful with suggestions for local restaurants, and bus connections to Doka Coffee Estate and Zoo-Aviary. Their support staff were excellent and spoke good English; hotel location is convenient to the airport via taxi. Didn't see any other Americans for 3 days. Hotel is very environmentally observant. Constanza speaks good English; this hotel is popular with Europeans of all ages. Highly recommend this hotel pre or post-tour.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room to the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Hotel Casa Tago is a great little place to stay. The simple but clean rooms are perfect for a stay after a late flight to Alajuela. Umberto and Constanza are wonderful people who run the hotel and Constanza especially went out of her way to answer my many questions. We stayed in an non-air conditioned room and were comfortable. Unberto greeted us with coffee in the morning followed by a nice breakfast. Ariel let us in when we arrived and set us up with the wifi code. I called from the states to make the reservation as I was uncomfortable sending my credit card # via email. This was our 3rd stay at an Alajuela hotel and will be the one we return to if we travel to Costa Rica again. Clean simple room, very affordable and the hosts were priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was a great little hotel to start and end our trip to Costa Rica in. It is a $5 cab ride from the airport which is so convenient for late night arrivals & early morning departures, is located near banks, food, the bus stop & the Central Park in Alajuela. It didn't look like much when we pulled up at night with all the buildings in the area being locked at night and the street deserted, but once you get used to the different feeling of Alajuela compared to other North American small cities, it's nothing to worry about. We fell asleep to the sounds of the street (cabs honk their horns as they drive through intersections and red lights) and woke up to the sound of birds chirping and roosters calling. In the morning the owner made us a delicious breakfast and gave us advice on how to get to Manuel Antonio from Alajuela on the bus and what to do around town while waiting for the bus. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about Costa Rica. The room & beds were comfortable, we didn't need AC as the fan was more than enough to keep us cool, there was a tv (although we didn't watch it) and the shower had hot water. Such great value for the price. We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 & 8 with an outside window. Room 8 was a tad bit nicer, but both comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughsie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in early April 2012. The owners were very nice to everyone. Constanza speaks very good English and her and her husband are very accommodating and helpful making travel arrangements if you need them. The area of the hotel is safe in the middle of downtown Alajuela and it is clean and reasonable. You can not go wrong if you need a short term stay at their hotel. You are in walking distance of Central Park and not too far from the bus stations as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with exterior windows will cool off better at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19William19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 62 in Alajuela
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tago

Address: Calle 3 Avenida 2 | 75 Este Del Antiguo Seguro, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £25 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA TAGO is located down town Alajuela, 5 minutes from the international airport Juan Santamaría. We are a small hotel run by the owners who are willing to give a personalized service to our guests. We are a Hotel with policies and practices that go in support of a sustainable environment; due to this the Costa Rican Tourism Institute has certified us as a sustainable hotel. For Hotel Casa Tago, it is important to involve our guests in our objectives to fulfill the propose goals, therefore, during their stay they will find information on actions they can perform.Our rates include breakfast, parking, Internet / WI FI, storage and tourist information. We also provide car rental service, tours, and international calls. The rooms are designed to make you feel at home. In each of them you can find, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, and a/c or fan.The so-called "city of mangoes" (Alajuela) is very quiet, you can find shopping centers, souvenir shops, supermarkets, and it is close to national parks like Poas volcano, coffee tour, waterfall park, butterfly farm and bird zoo, among others. For us more than a tourist you are our friend who we invite to spend "Pura Vida" vacations in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Tago Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing