We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Tago

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Casa Tago
Ranked #12 of 59 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Ingelheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

unfortunately we didn't sleep at the hotel, because something went wrong with the reservation and the hotel was fully booked.
constanza was extremely friendly and organized another nice hotel for us.
thank you very much for your help and the friendly way you treat your customers ;-)
i hope we can come back soon...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckes_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    67
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
98
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
québec
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were welcomed at the airport with our name card and a friendly driver, Gracias Martial!. Umberto very nice, friendly a great sense of humor. The rooms are basic. Like all of Costa Rica, a hot water shower is rare, but no problem for me. There is a common refridgerator, and the breakfast is great ! Full service with a great big smile from Constanza (Mama, luv U) giving us fruit, eggs, fresh bread, jams and of course great coffee. Arrival briefing also very informative and friendly. Upon our return, after 2 weeks, we were welcomed like family!! Taxi ride back to the airport $6.00. Great start and end for our vacation. Hasta luego !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This place is absolutely perfect if you're coming from or going to the airport. It's very close to the airport, as others have mentioned, and is in a nice neighborhood where there are lots of reasonable restaurants (and gas stations, if you have to return a rental car). The management was very nice and accommodating. The only negative is that it's a little hard to find if you're driving based on the map on their web page. But, if you're taking a taxi that won't be a problem.

When we arrived in Costa Rica we stayed in a much more expensive hotel that wasn't nearly as close to the airport as this place. Plus, since we were leaving before breakfast would be served, staying at the Hotel Casa Tago made way more sense. Next time we come to Costa Rica, we'll stay here coming and going.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

It was a recommendation of a (European) hotel owner in Costa Rica who stays at the Casa Tago herself when having a flight (back home). After my previous bad experience in Alajuela I was very satisfied with the place. Good value for your money. And a short and inexpensive taxi ride from the airport. I strongly recommend the hotel for a stay at arrival or before departure

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent place at the end or begining of a journey in Costa Rica. Umberto and Constanza are very warmfull, welcoming people. We spend 1 night at the end of our trip in CR in april 2013. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is generous:plenty of local fruits, eggs, bread and a very good coffee. The place is secured and very well located, just a couple of minutes from the Airport. The couple can give you a lot of informations about restaurants and other places to see in Alajuela. We recommend without any hesitations this Hotel. For the price and the quality of the owners it`s a must.
Bernard and Anne-Marie, Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent our first night and the last 2 nights of our recent holiday to Costa Rica at Casa Tago. Not only is it close to the airport and to central Alajuela but Constanza and her staff go out of their way to help you either booking tours or giving restaurant recommendations. I'd highly recommend staying at this small family run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

A group of four of us crashed at Casa Tago the night before an early flight out. We arrived late and were warmly greeted. The staff guided us to a nearby restaurant for a late dinner and arranged a cab to pick us up the next morning. We were there for such a short time we didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of the kitchen; however, we passed it and it looked clean and well stocked. In fact, the property and rooms were all very clean and well maintained. I only give this location four stars because its not luxury by any means, but if you need a clean place to stay (especially before/after flights) this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwiegand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#2 of 59 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tago

Property: Hotel Casa Tago
Address: calle 3 avenida 2 | 75 este del antiguo seguro, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA TAGO is located down town Alajuela, 5 minutes from the international airport Juan Santamaría. We are a small hotel run by the owners who are willing to give a personalized service to our guests. We are a Hotel with policies and practices that go in support of a sustainable environment; due to this the Costa Rican Tourism Institute has certified us as a sustainable hotel. For Hotel Casa Tago, it is important to involve our guests in our objectives to fulfill the propose goals, therefore, during their stay they will find information on actions they can perform.Our rates include breakfast, parking, Internet / WI FI, storage and tourist information. We also provide car rental service, tours, and international calls. The rooms are designed to make you feel at home. In each of them you can find, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, and a/c or fan.The so-called "city of mangoes" (Alajuela) is very quiet, you can find shopping centers, souvenir shops, supermarkets, and it is close to national parks like Poas volcano, coffee tour, waterfall park, butterfly farm and bird zoo, among others. For us more than a tourist you are our friend who we invite to spend "Pura Vida" vacations in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Tago Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing