We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Tago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Alajuela)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
81
80
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
80
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportdowntown alajuelasan josenice breakfastrecommend casalast nighttwo nightscostacountry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Casa Tago for our very 1st night in Costa Rica.
It is nicely located close to the airport and cost very little.
We found the place very sad: agressive light, no windows (just one on the corridor), noisy. Impossible to close the door of the bathroom so when you need to us the toilets, it is not very convenient.
We had booked this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica but we decided to cancel and to look for a more welcoming place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

unfortunately we didn't sleep at the hotel, because something went wrong with the reservation and the hotel was fully booked.
constanza was extremely friendly and organized another nice hotel for us.
thank you very much for your help and the friendly way you treat your customers ;-)
i hope we can come back soon...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank beckes_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were welcomed at the airport with our name card and a friendly driver, Gracias Martial!. Umberto very nice, friendly a great sense of humor. The rooms are basic. Like all of Costa Rica, a hot water shower is rare, but no problem for me. There is a common refridgerator, and the breakfast is great ! Full service with a great big smile from Constanza (Mama, luv U) giving us fruit, eggs, fresh bread, jams and of course great coffee. Arrival briefing also very informative and friendly. Upon our return, after 2 weeks, we were welcomed like family!! Taxi ride back to the airport $6.00. Great start and end for our vacation. Hasta luego !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This place is absolutely perfect if you're coming from or going to the airport. It's very close to the airport, as others have mentioned, and is in a nice neighborhood where there are lots of reasonable restaurants (and gas stations, if you have to return a rental car). The management was very nice and accommodating. The only negative is that it's a little hard to find if you're driving based on the map on their web page. But, if you're taking a taxi that won't be a problem.

When we arrived in Costa Rica we stayed in a much more expensive hotel that wasn't nearly as close to the airport as this place. Plus, since we were leaving before breakfast would be served, staying at the Hotel Casa Tago made way more sense. Next time we come to Costa Rica, we'll stay here coming and going.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It was a recommendation of a (European) hotel owner in Costa Rica who stays at the Casa Tago herself when having a flight (back home). After my previous bad experience in Alajuela I was very satisfied with the place. Good value for your money. And a short and inexpensive taxi ride from the airport. I strongly recommend the hotel for a stay at arrival or before departure

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews