We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location to rest and recuperate”
Review of Hotel Casa Tago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tago
Ranked #11 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great central location to rest and recuperate”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We flew in 11 am exhausted, and thankfully after a brief taxi ride could go straight to our rooms to rest for the next few hours. Loved the family that runs the place, Constanza was a lovely person and extremely helpful, recommending her favorite restaurant in Alajuela (Café Gourmet) which then became ours -- a quality meal (great sandwiches) every time. She also provided us with good local and San Jose maps, indicating the nearby buses we would need to commute by.

She gave some recommendations for our forays to climb Cerro Chirripo and to visit Corcovado Park, as she made us breakfast in the small but clean kitchen just behind the reception desk (fresh cut pineapple and papaya, small loaf of bread + butter, scrambled ham and eggs, guava banana juice?, and coffee/tea).

We came back three times, staying in three different rooms, all of which were satisfactorily clean, had working TV and fans, and were provided the starch-est towels possible. All in all, a very welcome stay (especially perfect to rest before/after the airport) -- one we would be glad to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iulillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    70
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

At first sight hotel looked great. But the cold shower (when booked a room with a hot shower) the thin walls so you can hear everything and hairs in the bed dissapointed a bit.
The location is great for coming from or going to the airport. The staff is very freandly and helpfull.
Don't eat at the Italian restaurant around the corner. People are rude, you have to wait very long for your diner and the taste is very disappointing (especially for that price).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Like previous posters state, the friendliness of the family running this small hotel is top notch. It was my first night on a 3 month trip through Central America and I didn't have a Lonely Planet Guide...no problems. The family actually went to their home and brought me one without my asking or wanting them to!! The family was extremely helpful in giving ideas and recommendations about Costa Rica in general and were very helpful in explaining where/when to get the bus to my next destination. The breakfast in the morning was also wonderful.

The only down side I found was that the price was somewhat steep as a solo traveler. It is a good deal if there is more than one person in a room. The rooms are very basic and I had a fan cooled room which worked out very well.

Pros: location near the airport, location near the bus station for onward travel throughout Costa Rica, service/friendliness of family, cleanliness, breakfast, security

Cons: Costs

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent one in Hotel Casa Tago. Great place for first or last night in CR. Great value for money. Window to the corridor, but sufficient daylight through ceiling window. Breakfast is good and offers oppertunity for nice conversations with owners as well as other guests. Wifi Internet and a computer available. Good beds, but as other guests might leave early it might not be a very long, sound sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We recently spent an afternoon and overnight in Alajuela and were glad that we chose Casa Tago. As in previous reviews, the place is spotless, safe, five minute taxi ride to airport and Constanza and family are extremely friendly and accommodating. Well worth the money spent. We felt so relaxed for our first day in Costa Rica.

I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a nice quiet, friendly, central , close to airport overnight in Alajuela. Thanks Constanza.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This family run a clean and comfortable place in Alejuela - the bes thing is them though. no matter what you ask they either know the answer or find out the answer - making a call or tow or more for you is absolutely no bother and they have all the bus timetables and anything else you might want. Its a really great place and I have returned more than once and am booked again. Excellent of course for arrival and departure from CR.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sidney0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We arrived to Costa Rica at afternoon and decided to start in Alajuela instead San Jose cause it is closer to the airport and quit city.

The taxi driver took us to this nicely hotel ..
the owners are very very nice people, they helped us renting a car and gave us important information for the trip.

The rooms are very very clean and the place is very quit.
At the morning they made a very good breakfast .

It was a really good start to our vacation in Costa Rica!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reutg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tago

Property: Hotel Casa Tago
Address: calle 3 avenida 2 | 75 este del antiguo seguro, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA TAGO is located down town Alajuela, 5 minutes from the international airport Juan Santamaría. We are a small hotel run by the owners who are willing to give a personalized service to our guests. We are a Hotel with policies and practices that go in support of a sustainable environment; due to this the Costa Rican Tourism Institute has certified us as a sustainable hotel. For Hotel Casa Tago, it is important to involve our guests in our objectives to fulfill the propose goals, therefore, during their stay they will find information on actions they can perform.Our rates include breakfast, parking, Internet / WI FI, storage and tourist information. We also provide car rental service, tours, and international calls. The rooms are designed to make you feel at home. In each of them you can find, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, and a/c or fan.The so-called "city of mangoes" (Alajuela) is very quiet, you can find shopping centers, souvenir shops, supermarkets, and it is close to national parks like Poas volcano, coffee tour, waterfall park, butterfly farm and bird zoo, among others. For us more than a tourist you are our friend who we invite to spend "Pura Vida" vacations in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Tago Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing