We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ceviche at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ceviche del Rey

El Ceviche del Rey
Ranked #75 of 177 Restaurants in Alajuela
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ceviche at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Ceviche Combo was delicious! The Calimari were ever so slightly over cooked but the huge portion of ceviche sea bass, shrimp and octopus which was super fresh filled me up! Great service, wonderful atmosphere and fresh food prepared well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DharmaMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited Arenal last December and loved both food and service in El Ceviche del Rey. We dined there for two nights out of our 3-night stay in the area. Ceviche was very flavorful and service attentive, but not intrusive. I am really surprised to see all the bad reviews here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was the first place I visited in Alajuela on a recommendation from a local hotel owner. The food was average, the service poor and the prices higher than they should have been. I was very disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhreedomPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Service was bad, we waited forever to get the check and had to finally stand up and go to the front. The food was bad, the fish tasted old and previously frozen. We were very disappointed for the price we paid. We went on a Friday night and the place was empty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe92275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should have had fast food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We ordered the ceviche and then the paella for 2. The seafood in both dishes was previously frozen and not fresh. Overall unremarkable flavors. We could maybe tolerate subpar food, but the price of the lunch was ridiculous, around $70 US and we did not even have alcohol. At least the waitress was nice.

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Ceviche del Rey also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Ceviche del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing