We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - only 5 min. taxi to airport”
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had to catch a 6 am flight out of SJO. Wanted to be close to the airport & didn't want to spend a fortune. This place was perfect. Rooms are very clean and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us out. The night manager gave us breakfast at 3:30 am (it wasn't a full breakfast - but, coffee, juice and toast). We really appreciated that. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops in Alajuela. It's a small, simple hotel - we recommend it for a one night stay when you're coming in or out of SJO.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and were not expecting much for the price. We were pleasantly surprised. It has recently been renovated...the rooms were small but nicely decorated & very clean with A/C.. We thought it was going to be noisy given it's location smack dad in the middle of downtown Alajuela but it was surprisingly quiet (we did have a room more towards the back so perhaps the front rooms may not be as quiet). The staff is the "shining star" here though. They all went out of their way to make our short stay a pleasant one, giving suggestions of where to eat & sights to see. Our flight was an early one and we were leaving before the scheduled included breakfast but they made sure we at least got coffee, juice & toast before we left. They also arranged a shuttle to the airport for a small charge and it was right on time. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Trip Advisor reviews said good basic hotel close to airport for your last night in Costa Rica... they were right.. it's not far from the airport but you can do better!

We paid the same amount of money to stay here on the last night of our vacation as we did at the Hampton Inn & Suites the first night of our vacation.. and they were miles ahead of this hotel.

Hotel Eskalima is literally a basic hotel. Bathrooms are so small that you can not dress in them, even if you want to shower.. the fridge did not work.. and although I did check the mattress etc.. for cleanliness (which was good) the duvet cover was showing signs of past stains (although I'm certain it was clean it still gave you doubt). The included breakfast was no better than basic and tasteless, however the very young staff were friendly and were as accommodating as they could be.

The area is very sketchy to say the least.. we arrived around 5pm and although the hotel has a nice park across the street it was full of what can only be described as local female entertainment (for a PG rating). This we enjoyed full view of while eating breakfast the following morning!
My son of 15 yrs and myself did not feel safe at all in the area and wished that trip advisor reviewers of past had noted this as we would of stayed at the Hampton Inn again if we had known. The hotel staff advised us to not venture out after 8pm and the hotel doors were always locked, regardless of time of day. They did offer parking next door.. no idea if it was secure or not, but we didn't leave anything in the car so there was no issue there.
This is the only time that we felt unsafe in this beautiful country after 10 days of visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rider_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Joining the other travellers for saying that this hotel offers bare necessity, don't expect charm and cosy. Quite easy location to join both the airport or the roads to Arenal. Not sure what you do with your car if you have one when you get there, i don't think there's a parking. Overall the staff was nice and helpfull, and you have a choice of breakfast from continental to local. Wi-Fi and TV and hot water ( and that's a luxury ).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Flew into CR,...rented a car.... and drove over to the downtown at 5 pm on a friday. Nice Clean VERY SMALL room, but breakfast was good and the girls on duty couldnt have tried to be more helpful. Stayed two nights and saw the soccer game. There is huge downtown noise, but the AC works even if the hot/cold shower was a bit spotty. The hotel's wifi wasn't up and working and there are no pools or amenities, good place to stop and get your bearings, easy jump off to Poas Volcano. Alajuela is next to the airport so departure, arrival is close and easy. Breakfast is tipica or continental and very adequate

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hotel Eskalima is a 'functional' hotel if you need a place to stay for your first or last night. You don't pay too much (60 dollars) and it's good enough. The rooms are ok and clean enough. There is wifi an, ac and the staff is nice. Breakfast is average, although it takes a while before you get it. A big plus is that it's 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EviUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel the day after and before you have to go to the alrport of san jose. The day after arriving Europcar would drop off our car there. Very handy. The boss gave us some very good tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
12.3 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
11.6 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
265 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: Mts de Pizza Hut 50 | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#11 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £32 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 17 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing