We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel 10 minutes drive from the airport”
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great small hotel 10 minutes drive from the airport”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a great small hotel for those who is going to the airport, otherwise there is not much to do in this area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with all amenities. The breakfast was great. There is a spa with massage. Very helpful and welcoming staff. The free Wi-Fi worked very well. If you are on the way to or from the airport - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
24
63
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed her the last night in Costa Rica to be near the airport. They have parking in a locked, fenced lot. Clean hotel and the rooms were comfortable with pressed linens. Updated baths and a nice breakfast included. Not a 5 star hotel, but for the price, again, it hits all the buttons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We flew in late at night and just needed a quick place to crash before leaving for Manuel Antonio in the morning. For the price I was expecting a dingy dirty place and was very pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and well maintained! The staff were very friendly and helpful, even drawing out on a map several places to buy sunglasses when I realized I lost mine on the flight. They don't have a shuttle but can call a car for you for about $8 or you can just get a taxi at the airport for $10. It's maybe 5 minutes away. There are almost no street signs so I'm really glad we didn't try and navigate on our own! Bathroom was very clean, bed was comfortable, linens were clean... it was a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upnover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose this place due to its close proximity to the airport. It was good value for a room with all the amenities, even soap and hairdryer. Super comfy beds and pillows. Wifi worked well, there was cable TV, staff were friendly and breakfast was pretty good. We came with a rented car and they had a safe parking area 10 meters from the hotel.

There was a funny smell in the room when we first entered. But it cleared up after the A/C ran a little, A/C is a little old and doesn't work too well. Towels and sheets had holes in them and looked very tattered. Floor felt sticky, perhaps the floor cleaner wasn't mopped up properly. Shower cubicle looked like it hadn't been washed in a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuninthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We searched on line for a decent hotel close to SJO airport, for an overnight stay, before heading to Cahuita. Online the photo's looked very nice and the reviews were good. But the photo's are somewhat misleading. I guess our western style standards are a bit higher.
On arriving late at night and very weary from a day of airports and travel, we booked in. Our online booking was there, but there was some confusion as to our booking deposit and how much the remaining charge was. It did get straightened out. Our room was on the 2nd floor closer to the back overlooking the inner courtyard. The room and bathroom were a decent size. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the linens were clean. The bathroom had a big walk in shower and clean towels.
But I did notice a few things that showed me that housekeeping was not quite up to snuff. The back of the bathroom door was covered in heavy layer of sticky dust and the floor by the walls had a lot of residue. It hadn't been properly scrubbed for some time, just mopped. The air conditioner was working fine, but there was some mold on the ceiling above it. One other thing is that the curtain on the window was not quite wide enough to block the light from the hallway, it was like having a light on in the room while trying to sleep.
The complimentary breakfast the next morning was very good.
I think if they improved a few minor oversights in housekeeping and had a qualified painter redo their paint work to cover up all the unsightly paint runs. They would greatly improve their ratings and the look of the place.
After all this said, I would not have a problem staying there again. It was just a bit disappointing after seeing the photo's.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the building will be quieter. The road out front of the building is very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cparker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have stayed in Alajuela many times, and usually stay at the Los Volcanoes. However, that property was booked. After an extensive search, I found this property on Tripadvisor, and attempted to book the property. However, the website directed me to 'hostelbookings.com', an unknown website to me, so I opted to just call the property. No credit card information was given, yet they held a room for me. They welcomed me upon arrival and much to my surprise, this was a delightful property. A boutique hotel, very small, very clean, and very personable, typical of boutique hotels in Costa Rica. When I arrived, they took my breakfast order, and the time I wanted to be served, and when I arrived at the dining area, they brought me my food. How wonderful!!

The location is also excellent. Directly across the street is a park, which was very nice. There were many eating locations within a few blocks, and right around the corner was the central market. The central market was small in comparison to the central market in San Jose, or Valencia, Spain, but was very nice. Plus, Alajuela is only a five minute cab ride to the airport.

If you are traveling to and from Costa Rica, this is a good choice as a starting or ending point. The staff was very friendly, and the accommodations were very nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmoney1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Alajuela's charm is in being bluntly honest. It is a rough-hewn, working class neighborhood. The 10 block square center of town is made up of variety stores, dive bars and everyday living businesses for the locals. I did not see more than a half dozen other travelers while I was there. Hotel Eskalima is your basic $50 hotel like you would find on any American highway, albeit cleaner. The staff was indifferent and coffee was not ready for my 7am early departure as promised. The one window in my room was an interior window facing the hallway. Proximity to the airport is the single biggest selling point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.2 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
10.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Property: Hotel Eskalima
Address: Mts de Pizza Hut 50 | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#11 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 17 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing