We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Pros: great value, simple but clean room, in the middle of alajuela right next to the church. friendly staff and good service. exactly right for a night. free use of computer and internet. had laundry service.

Cons: not much of a view from room 6, small bathroom, there is free parking but the place though around the corner is impossible to locate...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here on our first night and last night in Costa Rica. The staff that greeted us each time did not speak much English, but was very friendly and we communicated with little trouble. Each time we stayed we left early the next morning. Technically the breakfast starts at 7am, but each time they prepared a breakfast at 6:30 am especially for us, which was greatly greatly appreciated.

Taxis had no trouble finding the hotel since it is so close to the Catedral.

The rooms were clean, but the first room we stayed in had what felt like a very small bed. Our room the second time had a king-sized bed (room #10), so if you require the extra room, you may want to try to reserve that one. The insulation between rooms is a little lacking, so we could hear a large group of people coming in at night--but they quieted down quickly. It has more of a B&B feel for the rooms, like it was a house that was converted, rather than a hotel.

We did not sight-see in the area, so cannot comment on this, but we were able to catch a late meal nearby.

We would happily stay here again and recommend others to do so too.

Room Tip: #10 had a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miche60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before we left Costa Rica (the international airport is in Alajuela, not San Jose). The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The location is great, right next to the plaza and you'll have your choice of restaurants and convenient access to banks and everything else you might need to get ready for traveling in Costa Rica. When you are leaving, it is only a short taxi ride to the airport. The food at the hotel restaurant is tasty and very afordable.
The staff here is amazing. They are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
The next time I am heading to Costa Rica, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amh5795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Cannot say enough great things about the proprietor of this establishment...Gus I think is his name. Extremely kind and friendly, speaks perfect English. Our flight was arriving late at night so our plan was to get a hotel close to the airport. Alajuela seemed nice, and since we'd be leaving first thing we opted for the cheapest place we could find, which was Alajuela Backpackers. But they got our reservation screwed up and gave away our room. Our cab driver (we were supposed to have a car rental, but that got screwed up by our late arrival too) took us here and we couldn't have been happier--room was great, breakfast was amazing, and when we told Gus our story he immediately got on the phone and got us a car--a good one too, at a good price, from a rental place just a few blocks away. Though we didn't plan to spend any time there, we actually found Alajuela kind of charming. Highly recommend the Hotel Catedral!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jk_actually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed at Casa Cornejo on three different occasions during our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Alajuela, only 10 min away from the airport.

The hotel have only been opened since November 2010, but the place is great! The hotel is a family run business, and the owner and his family go to great lengths to make sure you have a great stay. They are very helpful with whatever you need, and are always friendly and welcoming.

The rooms are recently renovated, have a high standard, and are nice and clean. The breakfast which is included is very satisfying.

We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeleneEikeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We were looking for a hotel close to the airport when we came upon the Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo. The hotel is an entirely new building built on a corner of the city central replacing the 3 generation family home. The hotel is owned and managed by the same family. We were so pleased with the room, although a bit small on the first floor, it had
all the amenities of a first class American Hotel, even a hair dryer and wash cloths!
Everything was clean, beautifully decorated and very quite even though it is on a main street. Breakfast is included in the reasonable price and is served in the lovely dining area. The staff is English speaking and very eager to make your stay the best. We were only about 5 minutes by taxi to the airport but felt like we were still exploring wonderful Costa Rica the night before we left.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank longlakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank enricoflavia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.2 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
274 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
157 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Address: Calle 1era y Avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo is a small family owned and managed boutique hotel located in the heart of the city of Alajuela, Located less than 5 minutes away from Juan Santamaría International Airport. The Hotel provides the tourist with a nice comfortable lodging option with personalized service, comfortable beds, AC, Cable TV, minibar, laundry service, WIFI, and Restaurant. Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing