We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family run Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
MONCTON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family run Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is located just across from the central square. It is close to the airport, so the cab fare ran us around 8$. It was great to be able to sit in the square and people watch. The base room was very simple with older furnishings and clean, with the exception of the bathroom. This could of used a bit more elbow grease in the cleaning department. This is a good hotel for this price point.
The breakfast consisted of one pancake, a glass of juice and coffee. Not enough food to start the day with, so we had to go out for an additonal breakfast.

What moves this hotel from an average rating to a great rating for us, is the family that runs it, they really are wonderful. Vito, is quite a character and quite engaging. The son who checked us in and all the staff (most were family) were incredibly helpful with everything asked.

Room Tip: Get a room with the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlcovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    22
    20
    4
See reviews for
7
59
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We found the rooms old but clean. there was a lot of street noise at night but we expected it as this is something you find in evey city. the location is great across from the cathedral and a 10 dollar cab ride from the airport nicer then staying in san jose. the staff make this place amazing they are very friendly and helpful. we ate at pizza at the restaurant and were very happy with the meal. the breakfast (which is included in your stay) was nice and filling for our 5 hour drive the next morning eggs, toast, pancake, juice and coffe. we will definately stop here again on our way out of costa rica. thanks again to the staff you made our first night in costa rica feel like home :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyemarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We absolutely loved the friendly and hospitable family. They were great with giving us directions around the city in our quest to find Trolli Tropic-Os. The hotel offered a great dinner that was well within our budget and a delicious American breakfast. We didn't know that we had the option of typical breakfast, but the pancake was delicious. I would only suggest asking for another pancake. We ended up eating at the airport because we were still hungry before our 6 hour flight.This place is very clean and because we were in off season, it was super quiet. For those complaining about the noisy street, the hotel is located in downtown Alajuela adjacent to a Catholic Cathedral and close to a University. It is very noisy because of it's great location.

We stayed in room 6 which was in the back of the building. While the view wasn't great, it was quiet and that was more important. Honestly, when would I sit and look out the window? I've never done it on a quick trip, so why would I do it now? I'd rather just go outside. Definitely request room 6.

Room Tip: Select room 6 or any room away from the street for a quiet sleep. The hotel is located in downtown A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place was clean and close to the airport, but those are the only things this place has going for it.
The walls are so thin, I felt like I was sleeping on the street and the traffic goes all night long!! And the lovely car alarms going all night and morning were great too. I went down for breakfast and it was done by 8 am!

Checkin was not easy, we speak some Spanish and that was of no help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejm619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The hotel is fine if you need to stay near the hotel. There is not a dedicated parking facility attached but it is close enough if you have rented a car. Only big problem is that the street outside is VERY loud!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccasills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice if you need to stay in San Jose. Alajuela is much more pleasant than central San Jose and this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The showers are good and the toilets very clean. The breakfasts are very good and the wifi works really well. The restaurant is really good value and I recommend it strongly. There is a picturesque cathedral across the road which serves as a good landmark as it has an easy to spot cupola near the hotel. There is a lot of cultural activity in the nearby park- there are restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, ice cream shops, a travel agency, a Pizza Hut and anything else you could possibly want nearby. The best thing about this hotel is the incredibly helpful staff. Alajuela is far more pleasant than San Jose and it was a pleasant surprise to find an airport hotel in a district that was interesting in itself. Alajuela is a famously safe area with a strong police presence. The staff at this hotel were really really helpful and do everything to help you. We had to change tickets due to a sudden change in plans and the staff did everything they could to make it easy. Delia, Susanna. Karina, Ricardo, Harold and Vanessa were absolutely wonderful and made this an extremely pleasant place to stay. We booked this hotel because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. The favourable reviews are all true.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is a GREAT alternative to San Jose, both coming and leaving Costa Rica, and it's closer to the Airport! As the Guide Books say, Alajuela is very safe to walk around compared to San Jose. This hotel is run and owned by the sweetest Costa Rican sisters, Carmen and Delia. My ensuite room was very clean with very quiet A/C, a small fridge, TV with quite a few English channels, like CNN, HBO, NBC etc., and good WiFI (room 6). A 2 minute walk to the Central Park and all that surrounds it: Mega Super, Scotia Bank, McDonalds, Radio Shack. I was very comfortable and used it as "basecamp" to visit Poas Volcano, Zoo Ave., La Paz Waterfall Gardens, before I headed North to Arenal Volcano.

Room Tip: I loved room 6, only one floor up and my WiFi had a strong signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#19 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Colibri
Hotel Villas Colibri
#22 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Property: Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Address: calle 1era y avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo is a small family owned and managed boutique hotel located in the heart of the city of Alajuela, Located less than 5 minutes away from Juan Santamaría International Airport. The Hotel provides the tourist with a nice comfortable lodging option with personalized service, comfortable beds, AC, Cable TV, minibar, laundry service, WIFI, and Restaurant. Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing