We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was traveling with my younger brother and we started our trip at this hotel. The staff as so friendly and helpful, plus they seemed genuinly intrested in what was bringing us to Costa Rica. We had a crazy early flight the next morning and the staff met us for check out and called us a cab.
On our return to Alajuela we decided to stay here again. The staff remembered us from earlier in the week and asked about how our travels had been and were once again wonderful.

The room was VERY clean and nice considering how it was priced. The little resturant in the hotel lobby area was really good and a nice alternative to having to wander into the down town area for dinner.

I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    25
    21
    6
See reviews for
9
62
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On our most recent visit to Costa Rica, my husband and I spent the night before we left Costa Rica at Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo.
The location is great. it is right near the Cathedral and Alajuela Central Park. There are several restaurants within walking distance. There is a MegaSuper right across the park where you can do your coffee shopping instead of waiting till you are at the airport and therefore save money and have more variety. The area is a convenient choice since Alajuela is about 10 minutes from the airport.

We found the staff friendly and helpful, especially Hazel who was wonderful. Our room had a great view of the cathedral. We had a balcony. The room wasn't fancy and not that big. However it had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. Although the area is quite busy and central, we were not bothered by any noise. Our room was on the third floor. (No elevator). The breakfast was good.

All in all we had a good stay and consider the hotel an excellent value as the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raquel_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Catedral for 1 night last month needing a place to sleep near the airport to catch a 7AM flight. It really was just ok and we would try a different place the next time. Cleanliness could have been better and the towels had a musty smell. The rooms have AC, hot water and a tv. The street is very loud and thanks to earlier reviews we had earplugs on hand.

Note, the area is not very nice. It's the only place in Costa Rica we did not like. We arrived in the evening and headed out to grab a bite around 8PM. McDonalds, an ice cream shop and a not-so-great food market were the only options. We chose canned fish that we had packed and an ice cream cone. Walking around the area, the people didn't seem very pleasant and it's the only area of Costa Rica we were that we felt we needed to watch our backs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night before we were due to fly home from San Jose. The hotel is by no means upscale but the service overrides this. The owner was extremely accommodating and friendly and made us feel very welcome after a long day traveling. Recommended to anyone needing a budget hotel in San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is remodelled from an old house, and situated on a busy street corner thats insulated by very thin doors, you can hear EVERYTHING happening around you. People talking on the street feel like they are right in your room. Not bad if you have to stop over for a night, but there is very little to do in the surrounding area. Staff were very friendly, and we had breakfast brought to us at no cost in the morning. Its close to the airport, but there are nicer hotels closer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night after a late night arrival. Nice and clean. Manager was great. We actually went a couple blocks down for a couple beers before I went to bed and he was full of great information. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel due to it's proximity to the airport and its reasonable price. We arrived at SJO in the evening, picked up our rental car and found the hotel with ease. Easy 5 minute drive from the airport and free parking.

My fiance's dad flew in with us last minute (we were getting married later on in the month) and needed a hotel- the gentleman at the reception took the time to find him a room at another hotel as our hotel was fully booked. My father-in-law LOVED the hotel he found for him :-)

Breakfast was included in the price and was prepared by the same gentleman that checked us in. It consisted of coffee, juice, pancakes, egg and toast. Good breakfast.

I really wish I could remember the front desk guys name because he was great! He spent at least 20-30 minutes with us the morning we were leaving (no longer paying guests) helping us with directions to the bus terminal (to drop off father-in-law who was going elsewhere before our wedding), giving advice on where he should travel & also helping my fiance and I with directions to get out of San Jose.

The rooms were by no means fancy and you wouldn't want to "hang out" in the room, but for the price & included breakfast I would review the room as excellent. There was a TV and warm shower. Bed was comfortable as well. I can't remember whether I wore earplugs or not, but it is right on the street. I did not have any problems getting a good nights rest. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 1 night stay due to its proximity to the airport & superior service by the man at the reception counter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Property: Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Address: Calle 1era y Avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo is a small family owned and managed boutique hotel located in the heart of the city of Alajuela, Located less than 5 minutes away from Juan Santamaría International Airport. The Hotel provides the tourist with a nice comfortable lodging option with personalized service, comfortable beds, AC, Cable TV, minibar, laundry service, WIFI, and Restaurant. Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing