We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice mountain hideaway”
Review of Lagunillas Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagunillas Lodge
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice mountain hideaway”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hosts wonderful. We stayed in their casita located just before the host's house/lodge. Very special spot, maximum privacy. August cold at night, had plenty of blankets. Excellent place for 1st night(s) in Costa Rica as it is just up Poas volcano from San Jose International airport. 4x4 vehicle essential.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We enjoyed a lot our stay in the Lagunillas Lodge, among other reasons, because of the pleasant and cozy atmosphere and the friendliness of Humberto and Socorro (the owners), the awesome views, good location (very close to Volcan Poas). The bungalow has a rustic charm and is well equipped. There is a need of a 4x4 vehicle to reach the lodge. We wish to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica_2012_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed there one night so that we could visit the Poas volcano real early. We were the only lodgers there that night, reaching the lodge in a dense fog on a trail that you can only use with a 4 wheel drive. You get the feeling that you are at the end of the world. Really a charming place with delightful and helpful owners. But don't expect a soft comfy bed and air conditioning. Get ready for a taste of wilderness...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1anP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balatonfured, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Dona is quite welcoming to her lodge! Very rustic cottage, not to mention the shower, but the view is spectacular! The road down to the lodge is an adventure itself, if you don't have a tractor. Friendly staff, off the road, remote location, but close to the Poás Volcáno, which unfortunately opens at 8am, when there is hardly anything to see (been there a few times ... just no luck).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

very quiet and rustic, as close to Poas Volcano we found with a simple but beautiful huts and comfortable.
   Your new phone number is (506) 86060329 with the owner Dona tere a very nice deal with us all travelers

Room Tip: The cottage of Mrs. tere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I traveled with my father for a week of adventure in Costa Rica and upon finding Poas too cloudy to view, we decided to checkout this lodge we saw signs for on the drive up. We did not stay the night here, but the owner was kind enough to give us the keys to check out the large cabin for rent just a few meters above the main house / restaurant that also had several rooms for rent. The cabin was rustic, as expected, and had plenty of room for a family featuring a single bed in one (very small room) a 2nd bedroom with two single beds, and a master bedroom with a full bed and private bathroom featuring the famous Costa Rica heating element shower head. The kitchen / living area was spacious and featured a fridge, stove, coffee pot, and a chimnea for heating the house. I would not hesitate to stay here, but we were already on our way home the next day and had secured lodging elsewhere.
Our hostess was very friendly and we started our meal with just a basic black cup of coffee which we enjoyed on the open covered porch which was abuzz with humming birds. Upon inquiring about lunch, she offered chicken, beef, or trout. We both wanted the trout which delighted her and she quickly gathered her fishing gear together and had her follow us to the trout pond. She used a spool of fishing line with a hook and ripe plantain as bait. 5 minutes later, we all three had caught our lunch. She fried our trout and also provided fresh french fries, rice, and salad. We just enjoyed our coffee and played a few hands of Blackjack with a deck of cards that was nearby. The lunch was delicious and our bill only came to $25 for both lunches and a couple cups of coffee. Not a bad deal in my opinion when you consider most trout farms in the states will nickle and dime you for gear rental, cleaning the fish, and will charge you by weight for the fish you catch. The reviewer who felt ripped off, was obviously not considering the peace, quiet, and surroundings.
Long story short... if you seek adventure off the beaten path, check this place out. You will need a 4x4 vehicle to get down and back up, but that's all in the fun of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escondido
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here at the recommendation of Lonely Planet. We like a good deal, and this appeared to be one. It is just down the road from the Poas park entrance, about a 10 minute drive. It is down a very bumpy dirt road, and a long walk if you park at top. We showed up without a reservation, the owner greeted us with a smile and showed us a room. It looked very basic but nice. We got exactly what our $30 paid for: a very thin mattress, sheets that may or may not have been washed (I found several hairs that were not mine), very low water pressure in the sink, (which may have been a blessing, because the drain was also very slow), the shower was ok, but hot water was non-existent. Whatever. We didn't complain, we were only paying $30 for the room. However, they make up for the low room rate with expensive meals. We felt tricked. The owner will cook breakfast and dinner (maybe lunch too, although we were never around at lunch time) which is convenient as you are not close to much else. We were relying on Lonely Planet and our previous dining experiences for decent priced meals (LP quoted 2500 colones for dinner) and did not ask the price beforehand. We were shocked to learn (upon checkout) that her prices have doubled since LP published the 2012 edition. We spent $40 on two meals (that were ok, but not fantastic). We felt ripped off, and it negated anything we thought we were saving with the basic basic room. The Lodge is ok, and the property is kind of interesting, but don't stay here for the good sounding deal. It's not.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.0 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#7 of 26 in Alajuela
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 5 in Poas Volcano National Park
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagunillas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagunillas Lodge

Property: Lagunillas Lodge
Address: A 2km Du Volcan Poas, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lagunillas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunillas Lodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing