We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, convenient for airport”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, convenient for airport”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for our first 2 nights in Costa Rica at the Buena Vista. It is only a 15 minute drive from the international airport but is out of the town up in the hills surrounded by a coffee plantation and has lovely gardens and a coffee trail which can be explored. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room we had was a good size and the wifi worked well. The food was good, I did think the "included" breakfast was a bit light - we had a fruit platter and toast, juice and tea or coffee. We had dinner there and it was good. The hotel is conveniently situated to visit the Poas Volcano and the la Paz Waterfall Gardens and if you don't have your own transport they run tours. There is a small convenience store just 100 metres from the gates of the hotel so you can buy things like bottled water and snacks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    216
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
238
271
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here several years ago and decided to return when we wanted to overnight near the airport. Conveniently, they have a free shuttle to and from the international airport. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the food is quite good, the rooms comfortable (ours was air conditioned but we didn't need it), and the scenery is nice with flowers everywhere. We found staying here to be convenient and relaxing. It is easy to print out your boarding pass on the PCs in the lobby. Although I have never done it, they will arrange tours for you from the hotel which is an added benefit for folks that may not want to rent a car. We're looking forward to a third visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here at beginning and end of our stay in Costa Rica. They picked us up from the airport. They took us back to the airport. We had a great fruit plate for breakfast. Our rooms were very nice. We also enjoyed walking throughout the property. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our first trip in a foreign country, needless to say we were quite nervous. When we first arrived, it didn't look like much, but once inside that changed very quickly for the best. We had reserved a room with two queen beds which was nice and clean but because of the lack of space, we upgraded to a villa...WOW!
The food was good, staff very helpful with anything, however wi-fi doesn't really work and because this hotel is located right above the main road to town, it can get noisy at times.
Solar heated pool just means the pool is heated by the sun...but still refreshing!
If we ever go back to this area, we will definitely stay here for sure.

Manon Cleroux, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: Go for a villa, well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip and one night at the end. It was just right for us. The location on a hill affords very nice views from a pleasant lawn with chairs for reading or relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful. When we had wifi trouble one of the staff spent a great deal of time trying to get it sorted for us (it turned out to be a problem beyond the hotel's control). We thought the food was fine, which is a good thing since I don't think there are a lot of choices in the immediate neighborhood. Our room with two queen beds was comfortable and clean, though there was not a lot of extra room for luggage. The ceiling fan helped keep the temperature nice, but with no A/C (as far as I could tell) I can imagine that it might be uncomfortable in hot weather. But overall, this is a place we would certainly choose again for a short stay in a location that is convenient for getting to and from the airport.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Convenient shuttle service to/from airport. Fast friendly check in/out. Beautiful modern room and bathroom. Great view. Quite setting. Very good breakfast included. Excellent dinner. Excellent and friendly service. Business office. Great in every way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and efficient. Stayed there in January, for three days. The breakfast was excellent, and the two dinners were also quite good. We had been put in one of the older rooms. (pre renovation) and this was just OK. The toilet was another story. Upon complaining to the owner, he readily moved us to one of the renovated rooms which was more modern and the bathroom was excellent. If you are making a reservation i would suggest that you ask for one of the renovated rooms. All the rooms are apparently supposed to be renovated over the next year. There are also some villas on the property which are great, but cost a lot more. I would stay again, no problem.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room overlooking Alajuela. Awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLinda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
10.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing