We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Well this was not our first visit nor will it be our last to Buena VIsta. It is a great simple hotel for a break/layover in your travels through Costa Rica or destination hotel for tours throughout the area. It is close to the airport with a free shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms are nice and very comfy beds. Ask for a newly remodeled room or stay in one of the new villas very private. Great for a family or a romantic stay. The grounds are maintained nicely with a nice small pool for relaxing. All are meals have always been good too. But the number one reason we continue to return to Buena Vista is the staff. They are wonderful. So freindly and helpful. They do everything with a smile on their faces. The owner is usually around and he is always very hospitable. We have had many visit to Costa RIca and stayed in many hotel but I have never experienced such a nice staff. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: villas or newly remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Costaricanfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    207
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
228
259
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed our first two nights in Costa Rica at the Buena Vista and had a great time. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The views from the balconies were beautiful. The grounds around the hotel were well maintained. The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed the tours we took (to the nearby Paos Volcanoe and la Paz Waterfall Gardens) and our tour guides/drivers (staff from the hotel) were knowledgeable and friendly. Christian handled the arrangements for our stay and was very organized and responded to email questions promptly and efficiently. The hotel is conveniently located near the San Jose airport and the hotel provides pickup and delivery.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place is fantastic. My two friends and I booked a junior suite and we all agreed the beds were so comfortable. We had a beautiful view and loved how the the room was decorated. After a couple of weeks traveling around costa rica taking lukewarm showers, it was refreshing to take a shower that was steaming hot with great water pressure. The food was delicious and the staff were so helpful. Our shuttle from Montezuma would only drop us off in the town of Alajuela so the hotel sent someone to pick us up when we arrived. We also got the complimentary shuttle to the airport in the morning. It only took 10 minutes to get there-another bonus! Can't say enough about this place! It really was the perfect way to end our trip with a dip in the pool, traditional dinner and a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: i recommend the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica. Knew we would be exhausted after taking a red eye flight plus a long layover, and would need somewhere quiet near the airport, that could help us with transport to/from the airport as we flew out again the next day, and that would have a restaurant on the premises or nearby. BV met all of our expectations. Stayed in Villa #1 which is a short stroll from the main hotel. Spent more than we wanted to b/c the hotel rooms were all booked, but it really was worth it.
All of the staff were very friendly and speak English, so thankfully they didn't have to endure my Spanglish! Grounds are beautifully landscaped, food was good and the mountain weather was perfect. Saw many birds from our balcony. Wonderful quiet nights sleep - refreshed and ready to take on the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for our first 2 nights in Costa Rica at the Buena Vista. It is only a 15 minute drive from the international airport but is out of the town up in the hills surrounded by a coffee plantation and has lovely gardens and a coffee trail which can be explored. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room we had was a good size and the wifi worked well. The food was good, I did think the "included" breakfast was a bit light - we had a fruit platter and toast, juice and tea or coffee. We had dinner there and it was good. The hotel is conveniently situated to visit the Poas Volcano and the la Paz Waterfall Gardens and if you don't have your own transport they run tours. There is a small convenience store just 100 metres from the gates of the hotel so you can buy things like bottled water and snacks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here several years ago and decided to return when we wanted to overnight near the airport. Conveniently, they have a free shuttle to and from the international airport. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the food is quite good, the rooms comfortable (ours was air conditioned but we didn't need it), and the scenery is nice with flowers everywhere. We found staying here to be convenient and relaxing. It is easy to print out your boarding pass on the PCs in the lobby. Although I have never done it, they will arrange tours for you from the hotel which is an added benefit for folks that may not want to rent a car. We're looking forward to a third visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Member808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here at beginning and end of our stay in Costa Rica. They picked us up from the airport. They took us back to the airport. We had a great fruit plate for breakfast. Our rooms were very nice. We also enjoyed walking throughout the property. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#7 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing