We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service/beautiful room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service/beautiful room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The van from the hotel picked us up at the airport. We went through a downtown area and then up a winding road to the hotel. We were taken to our villa behind the hotel. The villa was spacious with a living room, two double beds, big balcony, and nice bathroom. We sat out on the deck and enjoyed the lights of San Jose. The next morning we had a nice breakfast in the dining room, and went on a walk around the property on a little coffee trail. The plants were beautiful. I talked with the gardener a bit, and the whole staff was very friendly. We stayed again the night before we left to go home. We had to get up very early, and the staff had a light breakfast waiting for us even though it was before serving hours. The van then whisked us away in the dark to the airport. My one and only complaint is that the hotel is situated in a residential area so there was a barking dog that woke me up the first night. I can stay home and get that!

Room Tip: Go for the private villa, its worth it! Hotel rooms were being renovated when we were there so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrijhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    207
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
228
259
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is kept very beautifully, the grounds are just fantastic. I am torn between a three rating and a four. The view is stunning and many rooms have a terrific room, I suggest rooms 24 and 25. On the one hand they have a dining facility but the food is hit or miss. Depends on what day you are there if walking to a nearby location would be feasible but there seem to be many options a short cab ride away. The fact is this is a transit hotel a place in between places or if you are in San Jose for a few days a great stay with a great view but not much to do there. The hotel housekeeping staff and reception as well as drivers were all super helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with small kids and they need a place to stretch their legs between landing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
I am glad these guests enjoyed most aspects of their stay with us. I am sorry the restaurant experience was not up to their expectations. Our cooks try very hard to prepare fresh, flavorful, cuisine. We buy the best ingredients available and our head chef graduated from culinary school. All I can say is we are sorry and will continue to do our very best with food preparation. The comment about an excellent "transit" hotel should be clarified. For me "transit" implies there is little to do here and that is certainly NOT the case. We are located amongst some of the true highlights of Costa Rica. The most popular tourist destination in Costa Rica is the volcano "Poas" which is literally in our front yard (at a safe distance). Poas is an active volcano in a large national park. It is the only volcano in C.R. that one can drive up to the crater rim, hike around and look inside. The world famous La Paz Waterfall Park is also in our area and should certainly not be missed. We are in the vicinity of Costa Rica's two most popular coffee farm/factory tours, Doka and Café Britt. One of the best canopy tour/zip lines is nearby as well as many horseback riding, bird and wildlife photography, and hiking options. The rainforest aerial tram at Braulio Carrillo national park is nearby. The mid and high altitude rain forests are here, distinctly different than the low jungle. The historic town of Grecia and the artisan center of Costa Rica "Sarchi" are also in this vicinity. I could go on and on but the point is that the central mountainous part of Costa Rica contains many of the countries best sightseeing and exploring opportunities. In general the hotels in Costa Rica do not have a great deal going on right outside their front doors. Costa Rica does not have a trendy urban scene of bistros, nightclubs and shops for nice strolling about. The better hotel options are out of the city of San Jose in more rural settings. Costa Rica is much more about the outdoors and nature. Most guests wear themselves out with all the physical exercise of walking and sightseeing. They come back to the hotel, have dinner and maybe a few drinks. Afterwards, many sit by our pool or in the backyard and watch the beautiful capital city lights in the valley below, then call it a day. Thanks for the nice review and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were so surprised to find this hidden gem!

We just returned from a 10 day trip finishing up at Hotel Buena Vista. We had an outstanding experience, thoroughly enjoying the beautiful rooms and grounds, great food at terrific prices, and remarkable staff.

The hotel is lovely and tucked away from the street overlooking beautiful views of the central valley. The grounds are gorgeous and exceptionally maintained. The coffee trail was delightful. We did not use the pool, but it was typical size for a small hotel and looked very clean and inviting.

We were very happy with the food in the dining room both the lavish complimentary breakfast and dinners. Having experienced sticker shock at the high prices of Costa Rican food and small size of meals elsewhere, we were so pleased to have such delicious dinners with generous portions for less than we paid elsewhere. Fresh seafood was especially good. The ice cream was to die for.

Rooms appeared to be recently remodeled with beautiful decor and linens, and the beds were so comfortable my son asked if this was one of those hotels where you can order the beds for delivery at home.

But most of all, the staff is without question the best we had in Costa Rica, and we loved the staff at our previous hotel. The crew goes out of their way to take care of everything for you, even helping to arrange pick-up of our rental car at the hotel and driving us down in the shuttle to the airport. This was a huge cost and time saver for us.

Kudos to the owner who obviously takes pride in every aspect of the hotel's operation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackly, Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Loved my room, loved the food, loved the location but above all, loved the staff: Gaby, Cindy, Paula, Xinia, Coco, Darwin, Randall, Kenneth,Jonathan, Alex, Juan Carlos, Jasmin.. Thank you all for taking such good care of me. Un fuerte abrazo a todos y espero verles pronto. Ceri

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingercez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I am writing this while I am still at this hotel...It has been an excellent experience. I chose this hotel because of other good reviews on tripadvisor and have to give it two thumbs up! The hotel is cozy and very clean, the tours they offer are great and the property is beautiful! The staff are amazing! Everyone I have encountered goes above and beyond! I am glad that I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James101F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel was beautiful and very clean with very helpful staff. Views looking towards San Jose were amazing. Everyone that worked at the hotel were very friendly. Good choice if you need to be close to San Jose area.

Rooms were good with very comfortable beds. Hotel grounds were very nice. Had a short coffee trail that made for a good walk. Breakfast fruit plate which was included was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I could go on and on about this hotel but I am going to try to keep it as short as possible. Simply said, my family and I planned to stay in this hotel for one night and we ended up staying for 10! We spent our entire trip here!

The staff at Buena vista hotel are so friendly and always have a smile on their faces. They are more than accommodating and do whatever they can to ensure that your stay will be amazing. By the end of our trip, we left knowing that we made friends for life, and some who we began to call familia. My family does not speak Spanish and this was not a hurdle for us whatsoever. Most staff speak both Spanish and English.

The layout of the hotel is so beautiful and there is a coffee trail in the back as well as a pool and an area to just lay out and take in the amazing view. There is also plenty of fresh fruit that grows in the back that is free for you to pick whenever you like. The hotel is located on a mountain which is about 10 minutes from the city, Alajuela, 15 minutes from the airport and about 30 minutes from the Capital, San Jose. There is also free shuttle service back and forth from the hotel to the airport. Although the hotel is in the mountain, the hotel has plenty of great activities and destinations that can be arranged for you.

From the manager to cleaning staff, cooks, and front desk clerks, and drivers, everyone is equally pleasant and friendly...and everyone is willing to help in any way!

When we return to Costa Rica, we will absolutely make sure to stay at this hotel. I recommend the hotel to all, even if you only decide to stay for one night. It's a great place to stay when first arriving and/or right before leaving Costa Rica.

I guarantee that you will leave with a great experience and wanting to come back.

Good luck, and have an amazing time in Costa Rica!

-Erica

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvonchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#7 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing