We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service and view, close to airport”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value, service and view, close to airport”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Tempted to stay in San Jose to prepare for our flight home, we are so glad that Buena Vista Hotel was recommended to us. It is like coming home to family. The hotel staff is incredible and if going to the airport, it is much closer than staying in San Jose. Furthermore, the view (it is located in Alajuela which sits above San Jose) is breathtaking. Overall, this is the place to land for an inexpensive, comfy hotel that knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel is small, so really get to know other guests. This along with a great, easy, free way to get to airport (they have a shuttle that gets you there in less than 20 or so minutes), makes it a easy decision.Don't leave there until you've seen the Volcano Poas and La Paz Gardems (very close by). Can't say enough good thing about it and the staff, David, Coco and Harlem seal the deal. Conversations with them about life in Costa Rica and the overall culture are enough to book the visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    216
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
238
272
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

A friend had stayed at Hotel Buena Vista several years ago and recommended it to us. The hotel staff were a pleasure to deal with in the reservation process -- very helpful. The airport shuttle driver was patiently waiting for us -- our luggage was the last off the plane! When we arrived in the dark, we didn't realize how beautiful the hotel and grounds were -- not until morning did we discover the lovely flowers all around. The room itself was rather plainly decorated, but it was clean and comfortable. Also, it was a little noisy in the morning (but that's not the fault of the hotel!) The staff was very nice. The complimentary breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

First of all , part of my last minute unplanned CR trip during Easter, so finding a room the last two nites close to the airport was a find. After driving up the hills around Alajuela, the hotel felt like a promising place to relax after driving the 4X4 Jimny all over the place. It turned out great! OK, the facilites are beautiful, the view off the back yard, overlooking the city, birdwatching , kicking back with a drink or coffee was very very nice. It's the staff that really makes this work. Hotel manager, If I ran another hotel, I'd steal them from you. These forlks are there to help you. From the front desk, who double as waiters and bartenders when needed, to the kitchen staff, great people. Very good simple complimentary breakfast or you can add more (for which you will be charged) but not needed. Best freshest pina colada, the guy used a fresh pineapple to get the juice. Rooms are very clean, not spectacular but works fine, the view from the back rooms is. Once you turn off the light, it's quiet, the bed is comfortable, and the clean bathrooms work. Small pool surrounded by flowers, good for a for dip or kids. Situated in a mixed neighborhood, great for a walk, say hello to the neighbors, you can pick up incidentals and cheaper cold beers turning right out of the hotel , small store run by Chinese couple who are learning to speak Spanish and no English , gutsy. Sad to leave 15 min to airport, most guests had been there numerous times, I can see why.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elviaje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I stayed at Hotel Buena Vista my last night in Costa Rica before flying out the next morning. All in all it was a wonderful experience! We had Interbus drop us off at Calalu Restaurant, where someone from the staff picked us up free of charge. Then we spent the entire day on the hotel grounds relaxing- their pool is beautiful and you can see the incredible view that the have on their website right from the pool area! A server brought us out complimentary frozen lemonade while we were sitting out there, and then we ordered lunch and ate by the pool. The grounds are gorgeous and the food is actually incredible! My mom and I are both vegetarian and instead of being stuck with bland food, we had a vegetarian platter for dinner that was delicious! I cannot say enough nice things about the people who work there..the next morning before we went to the airport they helped us organize a trip to the local coffee plantation so we could see one more site before we left. The only negative thing I can think to say is that the decor of the inside of the hotel and the rooms leaves something to be desired. But with the view outside, food and staff that hardly matters! I highly recommend this hotel to other travelers looking for a place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The Buena Vista was the first stop on our Exploritas program on “Birding the Hot Spots of Costa Rica.” Our comfortable room and the hotel grounds had spectacular views of San Jose. The hotel’s easy trail had beautiful plants and a good variety of colorful birds. Our best meals of the trip were at the hotel’s restaurant. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The one glitch … the hotel’s shuttle failed to meet us at the airport, but we were compensated with complimentary drinks and desserts. So be prepared to take a taxi (We suggest Taxis Unidos Aeropuerto. Get ticket at the taxi company’s window near the airport exit: $12 for the 15 minute drive). Would we stay at the Buena Vista again? MOST DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Hotel staff is very very helpfull and nice!
In the early morning, like 5 o'clock, it becames noisy because people leave the hotel.
Some rooms are in direction to the car parking. They are noisy and they have no nice view.
The package for 3 nights incl volcano tour to Poas is very good value.
There is free internet but very slow! It takes hours. :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balsiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This is a small hotel in a wonderfully peaceful location on the hillside above Alajuela (on the road to Volcan Poas) with stunning views all round. There is a small courtyard pool, a lawned garden with deckchairs (and a great view) and a walking trail through a coffee plantation. We have spent several nights here, on three occasions, at the start and end of holidays in Costa Rica. The rooms on the first floor with balconies overlooking the central valley are our favourites. The staff are unfailingly friendly, helpful and efficient, and the free airport transfers fast and punctual (only 15 minutes door to door).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
10.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing